Listen Very Carefully, I Will Do This Only Once

I do not, as a rule, do memes. But as I’ve been tagged by Biking Brits, and it seems churlish not to, here goes. Six random things about me. Or rather, not random exactly, but six carefully selected ‘strange but true’ facts designed to make me seem fascinating while still preserving some vestigial air of mystery about me:

1. I am left handed. I think this has significantly warped my personality, but in a good way.

2. I used to play polo. Yes, the horse kind. No, I’m not that sort of a person, honestly. I was extremely bad at it, but if you like charging about on (someone else’s) horse, it’s amazing fun. Hitting the ball is optional, at least the way I played it.

3. At school I was in the fire brigade. I was also quite bad at that, because I had no upper body strength whatsoever, but prior to that the only connections girls had with the fire brigade was being rescued at Speech day demonstrations so I like to think I struck a (feeble) blow against inequality.

4. During the 1983 election we had a mock election at school and I stood as a Conservative and won a landslide victory. I have no idea what I was thinking at the time. Since then I have voted for every other major party except the ones with ‘nationalist’ in their titles.

5. As a child, pretty much no fruit or vegetable matter whatsoever passed my lips, with the exception of baked beans and orange juice. I was the original picky child. Since then, I’ve gradually been working my way through the vegetable kingdom and now eat most vegetables except those beginning with ‘C’. Parents of fussy children, take heart.

6. But I still can’t stand apples. I don’t even like to touch one, let alone eat it. This despite the fact that I don’t know what they taste like, because eeuw, that would mean eating one.

I’m not tagging anyone in particular, but if anyone wants to consider themselves tagged, feel free. And this is the last meme I will be doing, so I hope you enjoyed it.

8 Responses to Listen Very Carefully, I Will Do This Only Once

  1. Polo!?!? That looks like so much fun, mainly because if you point the stick thing the other way you can joust.

    I was thinking the other day (I must have had to much time on my hands) that it could be recreated with bikes and hockey sticks.

  2. Dom says:

    I’m left handed too, all the best people are :)

    So you do at least think of the Conservatives as a major party? While I do vote Tory (sorry) there have been some local elections where I think I was the only person. I was beginning to wonder if a Conservative vote was like one for Monster Raving Loony :)

  3. Huttonian says:

    Sorry Dom Tory is now mainstream

    Disgruntled: Cabbage begins with ‘C’

  4. Dom. I feel your pain, voting Tory here is to truly know what it’s like to be alone.

  5. disgruntled says:

    Blimey, there’s all these closet tories coming out now. What have I started?

    Huttonian – but I only like Savoy Cabbage, which begins with ‘S’

  6. I bet CPHQ will be e-mailing you a cheque!

  7. rhona says:

    fire brigade??
    wow
    I must have either been asleep or reading Flowers in the Attic at the time

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

