More Food for Free

One advantage of all the rain we get around here:

chantarelles1

Chantarelles

chantarelles2

Lots of them

chantarelles3

So we took some home

chantarelles4

And had them on toast for tea.

I’m not a huge fan of mushrooms to be honest, but if I’m going to eat mushrooms, then these are the mushrooms I like to eat.

16 Responses to More Food for Free

  1. Fungi are one of nature’s most photogenic creations. I love the second picture from the top. The only mushrooms worth eating are ones you pick and cook as soon as possible. My constant fear is picking the wrong ones…or to be absolutely precise – eating them.

  2. disgruntled says:

    thanks … I was a bit nervous about these but we checked both our mushroom books and google and apparently it’s hard to confuse chantarelles with any poisonous fungi, and they smelled right (of apricots) which is apparently the clincher. And we kept one out, uncooked, just in case we had to make a trip to the local hospital

  3. Dom says:

    *shudder* Mushrooms are the devils spawn :)

  4. Jason says:

    Looks delicious! I love mushrooms, but don’t know enough about them to know what’s safe to pick and eat!

  5. wakeupscared says:

    I -love- mushrooms – although I’m a bit of a chicken and have yet to try anything more daring than the little round button ones, or those big flat tops (I am growing my own atm; to date, I’ve had 2 big ones come up and lots of budding intentions that have yet to come to fruition); so I’m impressed at you spotting and picking some beautiful wild mushrooms – which look so beautiful (they are so photogenic !)

  6. midwifemuse says:

    Loved the first three photos but then….photo is excellent but I would have had a hard time eating them!

  7. You’re a braver man than me Gunga Din…or something like that! We have to go ask our friend Dave about fungi and even then I’m hesitant….his lips once turned blue from eating them. The last time I consulted him, less than a week ago, he came up trumps and we have masses of soup in the freezer from field mushrooms and we had a pretty nifty risotto.

  8. disgruntled says:

    Still alive so far (after 24 hours). I’d have been with the nay-sayers until I tasted them, but they really were delicious. That could have been all the butter and garlic of course…

  9. john says:

    The toast looks a bit funny.
    John

  10. nikkipolani says:

    What a gorgeous find! And, yes, I agree that many things are taken to the next level with butter and garlic :-)

  11. disgruntled says:

    I saw the headline, but I hadn’t read the story! Ouch…

  12. Steve Kane says:

    Wow. I love mushrooms, absolutely love ‘em, and these look like beauties. I bet they tasted good too. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm.

  13. R :: B says:

    If you have enough, string them up on a length of thread in the airing cupboard and they’ll dry nicely. You can store them in a jar for the winter. Soak them in milk to reconstitute them before adding to an omlette with optional chopped bacon…

    Mmmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmm!

  14. [...] Minutes of Faim Posted by disgruntled under Off topic | Tags: mushrooms, spelling |   My mushroom post made it onto the WordPress front page yesterday – bringing a nice spike in my stats and with any [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

