After the Rain

The other half came out of his cave yesterday afternoon and announced that the met office website was promising sunshine at 7pm. I’m afraid I pooh-poohed this – it had been raining since lunch time, alternating between a steady, pacing-itself sort of rain and biblical downpours.

But seven o’clock rolled around and looky:

rainbow

They were right. We put on our wellies and went for a walk wade.

road_flooded routin_bridge_rapids steps_flooded routin_bridge_rapids2

After all, we had important business to do – checking the level of the ford

ford_high_score

I believe that’s a new high score.

10 Responses to After the Rain

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Gorgeous. I love the blur of the water in the last photo.

  2. I’ve always fancied living over a ford….always the chance of being cut off for a while…We had sun here at seven; it was still and clear with cloud patterns like marble.

  3. disgruntled says:

    Nikki – thanks
    Richard – there’s usually another way out, these days…

  4. cha0tic says:

    I think you might be interested in the book“Instant Weather Forecasting.”
    After spending a goodlie portion of my summer working outside and getting rained on I’ve developed a more than British obsession with what the weather is going to do. This book was suggested to me. I’ve now got a copy and I’m trying to learn to use it.

  5. disgruntled says:

    I don’t think I want to get any more obsessed by the weather than I already am… but let me know if it works.

  6. Dom says:

    Nice photos. One wonders just exactly how bad it would be if the ford ever got to 6ft. I’m guessing you’d need some form of boat to check if it ever got that high :)

  7. disgruntled says:

    I think the sign would have long gone by then. Along with half the sheep in Scotland

  8. Flighty says:

    I really like the first and last photos. I’m always surprised at how powerful even a few inches of flowing water is let alone two feet!

  9. disgruntled says:

    We had to wade to the footbridge in order to get to that shot. I could just see the headline: ‘blogger dies in photo bid’ – if I lost my footing and got swept away…

  10. [...] for a decade, and the worst summer in living memory and we were still standing. We’d had floods, we’d even had a plague of frogs – well, frog – and come off more or less unscathed. What, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

