How to Win Customers and Influence People

Sample papershop banter:

Papershop Bloke: Colder today isn’t it?

Me: yes, it is a bit

PB: Still, at least you’re not cold on the bike (I may have been a bit pink and breathless at this point)

Me: no, it’s not that cold when you’re cycling

PB: Yes, you won’t be cold on the bike. You nose may be running, but you’re not cold.

Yes, indeed, and thank you for pointing that one out. Still at least I got off more lightly than the farmer chap who was in the shop the other day, as reported by the other half:

PB: Bit nippy out today, isn’t it? (you may detect a bit of a theme developing here)

Farmer Chap: Yes, it is a bit. Still I’ll be warm this afternoon as I’ll be in all day with the sheep

PB: (to other half as Farmer Chap leaves): hope he gets himself a pretty one…

7 Responses to How to Win Customers and Influence People

  1. Mary Mackey Faulkner says:

    Perhaps you should feel grateful that the shop keeper tries to connect. That is not always the case here. mmf

  2. disgruntled says:

    Oh true, but I wish he’d work on his humour a bit…

  3. john says:

    I just saw the longjohns by god I was afraid, but I will get your book.I will have to order it through blackwells though as I do not use credit cards.
    best wishes John

  4. disgruntled says:

    Ordering it through Blackwells is good too… in fact, probably better.

  5. Dom says:

    I wait with baited breath to learn how be copes in the spring where it starts being warmer :)

  6. disgruntled says:

    I’m going out on a limb here – but I’m guessing some combination of ‘hot enough for you?’ and ‘lovely day’. I’d say this was based on experience from this summer, but the subject never came up…

  7. huttonian says:

    I wonder if the PB is from Wales? Less of a sheep obsession in Bonnie Scotland?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

