All Bluster

You know it’s going to be an exciting ride when even the birds are going sideways…

Today was a wild one. I’ve dealt with headwinds before, but this was more than that, a twisting blustery wind that lay in wait behind hedges and dykes and pounced out through the gaps and round corners. One moment I’d be going forwards, the next sideways, the next struggling to make any progress at all. At one point – inching my way up a hill into the teeth of it – I was seriously wondering why I was doing this on a bike and not in a nice enclosed car. But then I turned the corner into a sheltered spot as the gradient eased and the sun came out and it was just me and the bike on an empty road, sailing along through the hills. Bliss. And besides, I was the warmest I had been for days.

Coming back was an exhilarating roller coaster ride, the kind that made me wish I had a speedo on my bike, not to mention better brakes. And then I encountered my first truly thoughtless driver in months. It was a long straight section of road, downhill, the wind at my back and I was cruising, but she was going faster. The first I knew of it was when a bolt of bright blue streaked past an inch from my handlebar and then she was past with no more than a guilty glance in her rear view mirror* to acknowledge that I was there at all. One unruly gust of wind and I could have been under her wheels or, worse, scratching her shiny paintwork.

This is the kind of near-miss, nobody-hurt, nothing-to-see-here-move-along encounter with drivers I used to have all the time in London, but out here things happen at higher speeds and anyway I’m not used to them any more. Still, as the other half unsympathetically said when I got home, it gives you something to blog about.

* here’s hoping she can’t lip read. Or maybe that she can

5 Responses to All Bluster

  1. john says:

    Take care, weall know that you are an experienced Cyclist but as you are finding out you can get some good winds and a few daft drivers up there.
    Best wishes John

  2. disgruntled says:

    I could argue that I was the one taking care – she was the one who needed to… but yeah, daft just about sums it up

  3. [...] I’ll try to remember then next time some driver cuts me off or passes too close, and I’m tempted to curse all drivers — a category that includes virtually everyone I [...]

  4. psychosplodge says:

    bloody cyclists, not paying tax and insurance…….*muttering ensues*

  5. disgruntled says:

    I’m not going to dignify that with a response …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

