Disgruntled enough for ya?

‘You,’ said the other half, greeting me at the door, ‘are insane.’

It’s hard to argue with him, frankly. But you see, the thing is, I haven’t been on the bike all week, what with one thing and another, and I’d already chickened out of getting the bus home from Bigtown on Wednesday because it was raining and I’d stupidly gone out with neither umbrella nor hat, and the walk from the bus stop is 1 1/2 miles. So, come hell or high water, I’d promised myself I’d at least get the paper on the bike today. And of course today duly arrived complete with high water, or at least persistent wind-blown rain, which is bad enough (hell would at least have the advantage of being warm). But I’m nothing if not stubborn, and despite having second thoughts when I stepped outside and saw the sheets of rain driving across the hillside opposite, and third thoughts when crossing the minor burn that our driveway has become and fourth, fifth and sixth thoughts as the rain penetrated my trousers, my shoes and my socks before I’d gone half a mile, on I went.

It was … unpleasant. For a start, I quickly got to the point where I couldn’t – as I thought – get any wetter, whereupon the rain kept proving me wrong. The wind was blowing it into my face so hard it stung, and the roads were quickly flooded so that on the way back I kept finding bits of me (inside left ankle, anyone) that previously had been merely damp and which – after sailing through a puddle that was deeper than anticipated – soon became drenched. My leather gloves, previously impermeable to most rain, quickly became sodden. My feet were blocks of ice. Only my hat really proved its worth and kept the rain out – you can keep your goretex, waxed cotton is the way to go. And – while I may have to rethink my attitude to waterproof trousers – I’m only doing so if they prove more waterproof than my supposedly waterproof jacket.

Apparently the emotion that most people link with cycling as a mode of transport is joy. Yeah well, not today it wasn’t. Or at least not for me. The other half – while being very sympathetic to my predicament and all – couldn’t stop laughing when I arrived in full-on drowned rat mode at the door.

Hmm. Maybe ‘drowned rat’ could be the answer to my new nickname quest?

7 Responses to Disgruntled enough for ya?

  1. Maybe the survey was referring to the “Joy [of having spent at least 20 minutes in a hot bath, with some soothing music playing, possibly some incense burning, and definitely a glass of something warming in side you, having got back from this sort of ride]“. I’ll admit that it’s a very special class of ‘Joy”, but you never know . . .

  2. john says:

    your a lot braver then me.

  3. disgruntled says:

    Karl – that’s a very banging-your-head-against-a-brick-wall because-it’s-lovely-when-you-stop sort of a joy, but good idea

    John – or stupider, if you believe the other half…

  4. Dom says:

    Somehow you’re not selling this whole ‘cycling is the way forward’ concept to me :)

  5. disgruntled says:

    yeah well, if it was easy, everyone would do it.

  6. Ah, now you’ve hit on it. Make it easy and everyone does do it. Over here in NL cycling is the preferred means of transport for the majority. That’s why there is so much joy involved.

  7. disgruntled says:

    true – but I’m guessing that even in the Netherlands they haven’t managed to do anything about the rain… or are your bike paths covered as well?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

