Watch this Space

Gosh it was absolutely gorgeous today. In a fit of what might be insane optimism, I have celebrated by doing some planting: my parsnips have gone in, and some of my garlic, plus the first sowings of my baby-leaf lettuce and broad beans.

Here’s the end result:
new_plot_2009-03-19
Yup, it’s a lot of bare earth. But there are seeds under there, honest, and if you go in close you’ll see the garlic too.

In case any of you are wondering, the plants on the right aren’t some misguided attempt to grow tonic water from bulbs (everyone knows it grows on trees) but my mini cloches intended to keep my broad bean seeds (beans?) from forming an early lunch for some hungry mice.

So now all I have to do is watch and wait, and occasionally dig them up to see if they’re growing yet.

14 Responses to Watch this Space

  1. Sarah says:

    My veg plot looks quite similar just now, except for the forest of shrub prunings to keep the pigeons and cats off.

  2. disgruntled says:

    Hmm. I’d forgotten about pigeons and the havoc they like to cause…

  3. psychosplodge says:

    poor mice they need to eat too…
    and could do with something organic in their diets so they don’t all end up as mutant junkfood mice…

  4. Flighty says:

    Well done! I’ve not planted or sown anything yet, but should do in the next few days.
    Enjoy your weekend! xx

  5. Simon says:

    Glorious weather up here too. If I were you I’f put some protection over the lettuce – It’s still March – plenty of time for some hard frosts. 4litre milk bottles work really well.

  6. disgruntled says:

    psycho – if the mice are relying on junkfood round here, they’re going to be very hungry indeed. It’s a long walk to McDonalds…
    Flighty – I shall, particularly if the weather holds up
    Simon – I’ve got some under glass as well as a back up.

  7. Sarah says:

    I jinxed myself by mentioning the cats. This morning there’s paw prints right across my nice neat onion beds. Neatly in between the pointy sticks…

  8. disgruntled says:

    Pump-action water-pistol. It’s the only way to go with cats

  9. psychosplodge says:

    So they need all the help they can get then…

  10. Is there such a condition as “soil envy”? Yours looks SO good compared to our lumpy clay.

    Look forward to seeing the results.

  11. disgruntled says:

    plenty of clay in there if my boots are anything to go by. But I am fortunate in inheriting a plot that’s been cultivated for (probably) generations

  12. Simon says:

    Dunno about soil envy – but I’ve got clay envy. We’ve got peat up here – acidic and non mineral retaining. Clay might be hard work but its mineral particles cling to nutrients saving them for plants. Our nutrients just drain away.

    But I’m not complaining – the curries have arrived.

  13. disgruntled says:

    perhaps an exchange could be arranged?

  14. [...] 22 of Seedling Watch, and up at the vegetable patch there’s still no sign of any [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

