Another Day…

…another gardening problem. I’m seriously considering doing something less stressful next year, like bomb disposal. No sooner have I managed to get on top of the caterpillars in my broccoli, than I find my squash plants looking like this:

Nooooo!

Nooooo!

Hmm. Something tells me this isn’t right. A quick consultation with Dr. Google has suggested that I should water more, water less, thin the plants, pick off the leaves, not let the leaves get wet (in Scotland?), not worry about it, perform open heart surgery on the stems to remove vine weevils, and abandon all hope now and burn everything.

too young to die

too young to die

My money’s on the latter being what I’ll end up doing. But meanwhile there are still little baby squash! I can’t give up now! Won’t somebody help save my babies, before it’s too late?

(It’s possible I’m getting a little too involved with this gardening lark.)

10 Responses to Another Day…

  1. Flighty says:

    Oh dear! I’m sorry but I don’t grow them myself so I’m not able to offer any first-hand advice. xx

  2. QUICK! You need to take the small intestines of three field mice born on the night of a full moon, and cast them into a vat of bindweed picked on the new moon with gloves made from the skins of seven frogs born on the soltice – then chant “I”ll never turn down the offer of a free telegraph pole ever again” while rotating your left foot in a clockwise direction and your right foot in an anticlockwise direction facing the rising sun. QUICKLY!

  3. disgruntled says:

    See, I knew it would be something really simple…

  4. Dom says:

    I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit. It’s the only way to be sure.

  5. disgruntled says:

    I may be wrong, but I don’t think that’s quite in the organic spirit of things.

  6. john says:

    you should pickle these at once, then they will be ready for christmas.
    John

  7. One of the Big Lies is that growing vegetable is easy. It’s not.

  8. [...] of unpleasant vegetable diseases contracted by survivors: [...]

  9. [...] year, because the squash I’ve been growing there have done so poorly. Last year they just upped and died, and this year they went backwards after I’d planted them out and the slugs treated them as [...]

  10. [...] bit pleased with my veg growing efforts at the moment. Certainly compared with around this time last year the plot is looking much more like a productive garden and less like a disaster zone. And although [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

