Scary Stuff

‘Good morning!’ I called cheerfully as I cycled past a dog-walking lady on my way to the papershop – giving her plenty of room as I overtook her, I might add.

‘Aaaargh!’ cried the dog-walking lady, clutching her chest and leaping a foot  into the air.

It’s not just the sheep I terrify, then. Really must get a bell on that bike…

8 Responses to Scary Stuff

  1. Dom says:

    Halfords do a clown horn type thing. My girlfriend has one, they’re great, if a bit funny looking :)

  2. disgruntled says:

    yeah, because that’s really not going to frighten the locals… I do have a bell, it’s just not mounted on the bike yet. The old one had a bell, and that was fine, plus of course it had enough squeaks and rattles that anyone could hear me coming a mile off

  3. john says:

    I saw your book in the library the other day it was the first time I had seen it in there, so you must be very much in demand.
    John

  4. John in NH says:

    round here its the college students (of which i am one) on their phones or listening to ipods. unfortunately no bell will help in these cases as they couldn’t here an emergency vehicle right next to them, best to give them as much room as possible as i cycle through campus, not much else can be done. needless to say I heart my little bell :)

  5. disgruntled says:

    John – I hope so, because I get 5p everytime someone borrows it…
    John-in-NH – at least you’re unlikely to give them a fright, I suppose

  6. Been there, done that. Last time was a poor elderly Gentleman I passed on a dark evening in the next village. I think he jumped two metres across the cycleway. Fortunately away from me.

  7. […] been meaning to get a bell for my bike – or rather, every time I find myself inadvertently startling a pedestrian, or end up cycling at walking pace behind a slow moving group of people on the shared river path in […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

