More Plotting

This year, my vegetable-growing empire is expanding again as I have been offered more space by our landlord in the walled garden. Woo hoo. No doubt by July the extra space will have turned out to mean only extra slugs, caterpillars, ground elder, bindweed, seeds that never come up and mysterious plant plagues, but for now all those tragedies are still in the future and I can blithely look forward to the bounteous harvest to come. My mother and I have done our seed order (we’re splitting the packets to save costs),  a new sheet of the spreadsheet has been started and shortly a new planting plan will be drawn up.

I may joke, but this year I’m hoping the whole vegetable growing thing will go much better. I’m building on what I learned last year, and I’ll be starting off as much as I can in pots, rather than putting seeds straight in the ground, never to be seen again. And I’ll be more vigilant about slugs and cabbage whites, start my squash off earlier and everything else later, and generally keep on top of the weeds. Honestly, what could possibly go wrong? Please, don’t tell me in the comments.

So, a drum roll please for this year’s victims of the TownMouse 2010 great vegetable massacre:

  • Broad Beans
  • Peas
  • Parsnips
  • Potatoes
  • Leeks
  • Red onions
  • Garlic
  • Salad mix
  • Rocket
  • Gem Squash
  • Broccoli

What are you growing?

19 Responses to More Plotting

  1. Flighty says:

    It will go better, and from what you say you’ll be doing all the right things to get you off to a great start!
    I’m definitely growing broad and runner beans, beetroot, carrots, cucumber, lettuce, onions, potatoes, sweet corn and tomatoes.
    I may try a few others, such as turnips, if I have any space!

  2. Dom says:

    I’m still growing the alpines in my hanging baskets. I’m actually very impressed nothing died. This year I’ll be getting another basket (we’ve got 3 hooks, but only two baskets up) and possibly replanting the two exiting ones so the three match.

  3. Here’s my vegetable growing tip. If you received any shower gel (like for Christmas) that you hate – don’t throw it away. Dilute it and use it to spray your veg if any catapillers appear. The treatment must be immediate, but it works. Also works for greenfly on roses.

  4. The PaperBoy says:

    Can you tap up local stables and the like for some organic material? They’re usually swimming in the stuff and will let you have it for nowt. Nothing like jobbie to get veg to grow.

  5. Kirsten says:

    Diluted dishsoap works as well, then there’s the endless slug stomping at dusk and dawn in the springtime.

    How about some lime (or bonemeal) and manure? The all-knowing experts say that when a plant has all the requisite nutrients, it doesn’t attract the bad bugs and diseases.

    I don’t know about that, but last year I had chard one metre tall! Guess it likes a diet of bonemeal and spoiled hay. This year I’m mulching with loads of horse manure and autumn leaves I raked. We’ll see…

  6. disgruntled says:

    We’ve got plenty of horse manure and the garden comes with seven (count ‘em) compost heaps… so I think we’re good for the organic matter, although I haven’t gone as far as getting the soil analysed. I’ll have to start trying out pest control tips as soon as the pests emerge… probably as we speak, knowing the slugs

  7. yarb says:

    In my teeny weeny new plot of earth I would like to plant garlic, onions, carrots, a couple of sunflowers and possibly a pumpkin. I haven’t got a clue about gardening but I was captivated by my daughter’s rooftop garden at the local community centre last autumn and then we moved house and I’ve got about 50sqft ready to go. Excited!

    I’d love to do broad beans but they seem tricky, what with all the bamboo poles. I’m not good with poles.

  8. cha0tic says:

    You should grow Radishes. They’re like little vegetable sweets.

  9. disgruntled says:

    yarb – ooh, exciting! And broad beans don’t need poles. They sort of stand up by themselves but need something to lean on when it’s windy. I just used twiggy sticks. I object to going out and buying sticks, which is basically what bamboo poles are
    cha0tic – are you sure? They look like just regular vegetables to me…

  10. M says:

    lol @ “Nothing like jobbie to get veg to grow.”

    I live in a flat but I still want to try to grow something. I was thinking about tomatoes because I think I can do them in a pot on the little so called balcony area.

  11. yarb says:

    Radishes are fantastic! So full of personality. I don’t like eating them that much but will definitely be growing them. Maybe then I’ll start to enjoy eating them.

  12. disgruntled says:

    M – herbs are good too for balconies. And chiles
    Yarb – don’t get too fond of them. If you’ve named them, it’s too late

  13. littlelegsdad says:

    I’m still growing a bigger waist line. Does that count?

  14. Sarah says:

    We have garlic, onions, spinach and asparagus overwintered. And somewhat squished by said winter.

    My other half wants to extend the drive (sensible really as the camper van boot/bike rack currently has a wall in its way), so we have to move two of the raised beds before we plant anything in them. He’s ignoring/forgotten the above garlic and onions.

  15. babymother says:

    My broad beans ARE alive… But my chickens are dead. I’ll blog if I can bring myself too.

  16. disgruntled says:

    lld – no, unless you’re feeding it with home-grown vegetables
    Sarah – my garlic has survived too, thanks to the magic of bottle cloches.
    Babymother – oh no! Urban foxes?

  17. Jenny says:

    Right now in the summertime here I have had my own first season of gardening, having bought some ZOODOO (yes, it is what it sounds like), and stuck some plants in the ground. It worked! I have snow peas, lettuces, spinach, small carrots, radishes, still waiting on the toms, yellow runner beans. I’ve just tipped some beetroot seeds in as well. We’ll see. I tried a strange ‘homeopathic’ solution to the bug thing, and put a cucumber slice in a foil plate at each end of the garden, supposedly the smell keeps slugs and snails at bay. I think it worked, but it may have been because my knees were facing west and my tongue tip was hanging out a bit. Who knows. Spraying the leaves with a garlic water mix seems to help as well. ALL THE BEST.

  18. disgruntled says:

    Thanks! It’s just plain old cowpoo up here

  19. Helen says:

    I have seeds for onions (pickling and normal bulb), leeks, kale, carrots (2 kinds), lettuce (salad bowl and romaine), rocket, spinach, cabbage (4 varieties – one for each season), dwarf beans, 2 varieties of runner beans and peas. Also some old seeds for radishes, spring onions and garlic chives, which did seem to grow last year until Jen (dog) decided to run up and down the raised bed…two radishes survived. As the fruit tree bed is not ready it will be my potato patch this year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

