Storm in a D-cup

I cannot let today pass without mentioning that today is boobquake. In the name of science, women are invited to dress as immodestly as they can, in order to see whether it does, indeed, cause an increase in the number of earthquakes. Sadly, as I’m not particularly endowed in that department (and the day I was patted down in Belfast airport by the security chap as he had taken me for a boy and he didn’t notice his mistake is still engraved upon my soul. I grew my hair after that), I’m not sure my puny cleavage will add to the effect. But if the sun comes out any more I’m planning on taking off my jumper and believe me, that’s quite a step for Scottishkind.

If you’re reading this and you’ve got the wherewithal, join in! It’s science! And besides, it should be fun. Thanks to Aviatrix to the heads (or some other part of the anatomy) up.

15 Responses to Storm in a D-cup

  1. Dom says:

    Don’t forget to show plenty of ankle too.

  2. Mikeachim says:

    I fully support this scientific investigation.

    In fact, I think it should be extended right through the summer. Science is important.

    Thank you.

  3. disgruntled says:

    Dom – I think for it to work, we have to be less modestly dressed than normal, so there’s a measurable effect
    Mike – as aviatrix suggested, as a control, we’ll need an international burqua day. I’d be up for that in midgie season

  4. The Paperboy says:

    Oh great, you can conduct empirical research into boobons too. They’re reputed to be one of the most powerful specific-acting gravitational particles known to man – it is boobons that are responsible for the drawing of a man’s eyeballs to gaze upon the frontage emitting such particles.

    “Scientists at MIT (Mammary Institute of Technology) have discovered a new force, quite possibly the most powerful yet. Researchers have dubbed this new force “breast gravity.” It is the nearly irresistible force that draws men’s eyes down to women’s breasts.
    BREAST GRAVITY
    “The idea came to me out of the blue,” says team leader Frank Leerer. “I was walking along the beach with a colleague of mine, and we saw a woman in a string bikini. ‘Check out the globes on her!’ he said. That’s when the idea hit me like a brick house.”

    Theorists have been working around the clock to explain the biophysical mechanism behind the phenomenon. It is believed that like the other fundamental forces of the universe, breast gravity is mediated by an elementary particle. MIT scientists have named this theoretical particle the “boobon.”

    Many aspects of the new force have now been determined empirically. It is known that breast gravity grows exponentially with breast size. Also, experimentalists think that many materials must absorb boobons, because layers of clothing can significantly decrease the force. (A large parka can sometimes nullify the effect completely.)

    Still, there are mysteries yet to be solved. For example, why are almost all men’s eyes affected, but only a small fraction of women’s? How can it be that the force is transmitted even through televised and printed images of breasts?

    Scientists everywhere are looking into it.”

  5. I’ve got the clevage on display today – and I’ve let them know on the Boobquake site. What a brilliant idea – I think this is a feminist issue with a sense of humour.

  6. Holly Bush says:

    so glad heard about this before night out – will do my best with the double Ds!

  7. disgruntled says:

    Paperboy – one for the boys, I think
    DressingMyself & Holly – excellent – that should do it.

    (there’s already been an earthquake in Taiwan…)

  8. The PaperBoy says:

    That’s a problem though: if you ask blokes to research something like boobons they’ll be disproportionately distracted by the emission source – so much that they’ll miss observing the effects – and it’ll affect the findings of the research.

  9. Flighty says:

    I’m glad that I wasn’t drinking my cup of tea when I read this rather mind boggling post! xx

  10. Bill Sticker says:

    It’s started! Have you seen the Earthquake swarms around the world? Cover up immediately because the volcano gods are very cross indeed!

    Tsk!

  11. disgruntled says:

    Flighty – sorry!
    Bill – makes a change from angering the weather gods. Ha!

  12. John Gibson says:

    Paperboy, you should be writing for the daily marsh with prose like that.
    John Gibson

  13. Aviatrixc says:

    Fun post! Thanks for spreading the word. My coworker said, “you’re all dolled up!”

  14. Aviatrixc says:

    P.S. Please forgive me for laughing aloud at your Belfast security encounter.

  15. disgruntled says:

    Aviatrix – thanks for stopping by and for the alert in the first place – wouldn’t have picked it up otherwise.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

