Greetings Earthlings, we Bring you News of Great Impor…

Remember my curly wurly parsnips?


I think this may be one of them

It’s either that, or it’s a strange tentacle-based life form from Alpha Centauri which landed in my veg patch in order to bring news of other civilisations and how man can live in harmony with others and with the planet in peace, happiness and prosperity. In which case, I probably shouldn’t have dug it up and dismembered it for my supper.

But then again, maybe the future survival of civilisation is but a small price to pay for honey and mustard glazed roast parsnips

21 Responses to Greetings Earthlings, we Bring you News of Great Impor…

  1. Emma J says:

    No doubt a small price to pay. Thanks for the grin.

  2. upinak says:

    Mighty… errr… nice Alien you have there.

    So, how big is it?

  3. cha0tic says:

    “Iä! Iä! Cthulhu Fhtagn!”

  4. disgruntled says:

    upinak – I’m not quite sure but about half of it was enough for the two of us
    cha0tic – too late, it’s in the oven

  5. upinak says:

    Good grief, you didn’t just have a alien parsnip. You had a giant mutant variety. I have never had parsnips… and the recipe looks good. I wonder if I should try it.

  6. disgruntled says:

    They’re delicious, you should try them. Although if you try that recipe I recommend you part roast the parsnips in just oil first and only then add the glaze as the sugar in the honey tends to burn if you leave it in the oven too long

  7. [...] to cheer myself up, I went to look at people blogs.  A mutant parsnip made me giggle.  But she said it tasted good other than it was huge!  I began checking out my [...]

  8. WOL says:

    I think your parsnip has a litter of parsniplets. — or are those dreadlocks?

  9. Dom says:

    More proof, if any were needed, that parsnips are truely evil.

  10. disgruntled says:

    WOL – they were delicious, whatever they were. Much less woody than the main body of the beast
    Dom – pfft. More for the rest of us then

  11. Flighty says:

    You certainly wouldn’t find one like that in the supermarket! xx

  12. R::B says:

    Definitely a dread Cthulhu parsnip…question is, was it overly stony soil or too rich compost that was responsible for invoking it?

  13. John Gibson says:

    I think you should breed the parsnip with the bean, and see what happens.

    ps: Did you see the ride of my life on tv last night (16th) about the guy who went all over the place to get bits to build a bike with. It cost him about £4000
    John

  14. disgruntled says:

    Flighty – indeed
    R::B – I suspect it was chitting it and then leaving the sprout until it had almost climbed out of the container before planting it. Although we’re not short of stones in the soil either
    John – no, I missed that one. I hope the bike was worth it…

  15. Sarah says:

    I’ll see your honey and mustard and raise you honey and sweet chilli.

  16. disgruntled says:

    ooooh. hmmm. yes, can see how that might work

  17. [...] thought we were done with the monster parsnips, didn’t [...]

  18. [...] missing in action: some of my parsnips. I think I got a bit cocky with parsnips. After the monster parsnips of 2010, 2011 saw a fine crop of ‘disappointingly normal’ parsnips so I didn’t [...]

  19. [...] may have mentioned that after 2010′s giant mutant parsnips, the other half pronounced last year’s crop ‘disappointingly [...]

  20. […] And in other years, I wouldn’t just have won, I’d have absolutely smashed it. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers

