Hope 1, Experience 0, after extra time

Bleurch. What a day. I’m in Duns at the moment, having spent most of the day sitting in my parents’ ‘sun porch’ listening to the rain hammer against the roof (It’s always a bit of a trade-off between having to listen to the depressing sound of the rain and at least being able to see some daylight, however grey and gloomy). But that doesn’t matter because my mother and I have been visiting Seed Catalogue Land where it is always that moment in spring when the days lengthen and the earth warms up and the first shoots come poking out of the ground. And where they aren’t promptly eaten by something because in Seed Catalogue Land everything is hardy and high-yielding and resistant to all manner of diseases and delicious to humans but not to slugs. And where there are no weeds and no pests because you have purchased all manner of impeccably organic weed-and-pest-destroying devices. Yes, it’s seed-ordering time again, the point of the year when hope triumphs however fleetingly over experience. I love Seed Catalogue Land. I only wish I could live there all the time.

Still, tomorrow we’re heading back to non-Seed Catalogue Land where not only is it still November (seriously, how long does a month need to go on for?) but where I haven’t yet finished digging over my new vegetable empire. But at least I know that I will have some subjects to put in it when it’s done.

What are you ordering?

update…

Off topic, but I’ve just found out that my photo of the other half whizzing through a puddle on a bike has been shortlisted in the EcoVelo  Why I Ride Readers’ Award photo competition (the photo itself is here). The bad news is, it’s coming last, although that might simply be because the other nineteen photos are so much better…

13 Responses to Hope 1, Experience 0, after extra time

  1. I won’t because I’ve been seduced by the suave and handsome seed catalogue man before (it was his sunflowers, you understand).But I should be ordering (or I should have collected seeds already) marigolds, because they have been not a bit of bother and are still flashing orange at me from amongst the rampant decay of the ‘herb garden’. I’m going to have a big patch of them next year, but I’ll get my seeds from the hardware shop. Our village shops need us.

  2. Andy in Germany says:

    Oh heck. This means I now need to go off to the local seed catalogue land which means several hours with a translator and Wikipedia trying to work out what ‘Half-hardy annual’ and other things mean. It’s a bit easier since I worked out that I can look up plant names in Latin. Now I find what I want in Wikipedia UK, find the Latin name, and cut and paste that into Google Germany.

    Who said it was a dead language…

    • emma c says:

      Oh yes, that is exactly what I do too, go via the botanical name! My friends all marvel at how I seem to know the ‘serious’ name for plants.. it was all an accident, guv..

  3. Dom says:

    I’ll be growing sunflowers again, but I’ll be picking up the seeds from the garden centre.

  4. disgruntled says:

    uhdd – our village shop (or rather Papershop village shop – oh how I dream of having a local village shop) is very tardis-like but hasn’t found room for seeds.
    Andy – I used to work at Kew where Latin was anything but a dead language. We once got an email from a russian in Latin on the grounds that there was more like to be someone who could read latin there than russian. He was right.
    Dom – the nice thing about the organic gardening catalogue is the heritage varieties. Our nearest garden centre is one of those things that’s practically turned itself into a retail park, but still only manages to have one rack of seeds

  5. Flighty says:

    I know that it’s November just by the various seedy posts I’ve been reading over the past week!
    I’ve got mine,
    http://flightplot.wordpress.com/2010/11/21/a-seedy-sunday/
    but will undoubtably get more, especially once I start browsing through the Chiltern Seeds catalogue when it arrives. xx

  6. disgruntled says:

    yes, I really must sort through the seeds I’ve got and see what’s still in date before I order too many more. But there’s always a variety in the catalogue that looks like it will be some how better than the ones you’ve got

  7. John Gibson says:

    A fine bright blowy day after rain … a puddle ahead … and suddenly you’re seven years old again.

    what do you mean again?

    your other half looks like he is comming to a juction without much chance of stopping, good job your in the countryside.
    John

  8. WOL says:

    I’ve ordered a tall, athletic, nubile 30-something of the male persuasion, of docile and cheerful temperment, who enjoys gardening, DIY, and extracurricular activities. Apparently, they are on back order and have been for some time. . .

  9. Dom says:

    I thought all garden centres doubled as retail parks (and theme parks almost), even our little local one. The do seem to sell vast amounts of stuff, but never quite what you want… except for Russian Giants. They’re always on the 1 rack of seeds when I want them :)

  10. emma c says:

    Oh yes, I quite agree about hope triumphing over experience.. but every year I think I’ll do better next year. You have inspired me to do more VEG next year. Yes, definitely. :-)

  11. disgruntled says:

    John – yes, exactly like a 7-year-old… (he did stop in time)
    WOL – oh, I must have missed that page in the catalogue, too distracted by cabbage varieties
    Dom – ah I remember the days when garden centres sold gardening supplies *lapses into reminiscence…*
    Emma – hooray! Try monster parsnips, they can’t be beaten

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

