Trousers too Tight to Mention

I have much to say but can’t type long because I have knackered a finger playing ‘touch’ football with the nephews (no photo by popular request), and I need what little use I have in my hand to keep hitting the refresh button on the Guardian’s over-by-over commentary for the Test Match.* So I’ll just have to leave you with the news that Levis have inexplicably changed their sizing policy so that the size I have been wearing ever since I was in uni unaccountably won’t do up comfortably. At least, I think that’s what the problem is. There’s certainly no other logical explanation that I can think of.

*Only England could manage lose from here, so I’m watching with fascination to see how they do it.

16 Responses to Trousers too Tight to Mention

  1. ian... says:

    Yes, those barstewards at Levis have snuck in & adjusted all my old pairs to the new sizing policy as well :>D

  2. Lola says:

    They seem to have shrunk all the clothes in my wardrobe as well! Busy little bastards.

  3. tlatet says:

    M&S too. Hope the finger heals quickly, and best wishes for the rest of the holiday.

  4. disgruntled says:

    hehe – at least the finger doesn’t stop me cycling so I should be able to fight back the trouser menace

  5. WOL says:

    They don’t make Levis in my size: “TDB*.” There’s a reason “Twinkle Tons” nests on the ground, which has nothing to do with lack of trees. . .

    *Too Big!

  6. disgruntled says:

    Flighty – don’t, we’re watching the weather anxiously for our flights home
    WOL – much safer than the treetops, frankly

  7. KitKatCot says:

    I have heard “we really can’t boxxox this now” How long has he been following the England cricket team??
    And by the way, if you find a decent pair of jeans that actually reach the waist, please let me know.

  8. welshcyclist says:

    Sorry, but I can’t abide cricket, perhaps it’s Welsh thing? Sorry to hear about Levi’s changing their demographic sizing policy to your disadvantage, but Christmas is really the wrong time to try anything on, as I’ve found out to my cost. Especially since I haven’t been cycling for a month now, it doesn’t take long for those pounds to creep back. You seem to be having a great time stateside.

  9. disgruntled says:

    KitKatCot – I know, I’m not counting my chickens till they’ve hatched, grown up, and got into university on this one.

    It’s well known that trousers by law are no longer allowed to reach anyone’s waist. The only solution is walking and outdoors shops – it seems the huntin’ shootin’ fishin’ hikin’ woman doesn’t hold with any of that nonsense about hipster trousers

    Welshcyclist – it holds a strange fascination over me. And I hear you about Christmas but we can’t afford Levis in the UK so have to stock up while we’re over here

  10. [...] on Town Mouse… …alert readers may recall that I damaged my finger over Christmas, unwisely playing American Football with my nephews (none of this would have [...]

  11. [...] that’s not going to happen now, when I am manifestly NOT starving, as evidenced by my incredible shrinking jeans. So we were grateful that the bird in question turned up truly oven-ready: headless and gutless and [...]

  12. [...] problem, if you really want to know, is that I had foolishly chosen to wear my jeans, which are still rather snug, and so it was hard to get my leg over, as it were. And my bungees have lost some of their bung, so [...]

  13. [...] jeans is that – freshly washed and not much worn as they are – I’m still having difficulty sitting down in them. Cycling may do wonders for the shape of your bum, girls, but it does [...]

  14. [...] you’re repeating yourself), if not actually 1998. Jeans, I can do, if only Levi’s would stop shrinking the damn things, because I’ve been wearing 501s since they were actually cool (I’m [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

