Let There Be Light

Last night I finally got to try out my present from Babymother, a Knog Boomer light for my bike. It was nice and bright and the ride down to the village was made much less fraught, despite patchy fog and only slightly more patchy ice.*

There are plenty of bright lights out there, and I’m sure you’ll tell me about the ones you have which are brighter, better, cheaper, lighter and generally more awesome, but that’s not the point of this post. The point of the post is the way the light fits on the bike. The light itself is covered in some sort of rubbery material which stretches round the handlebar and hooks onto a catch on the body of the light. That’s it. No brackets to get stolen, no fiddling around with screws, no instructions loosely translated from the Cantonese, and above all no swearing. I went from ‘hmmm’ to ‘ooh, nifty’ to ‘Why the &*$% aren’t all lights fitted like this, there ought to be some sort of a law’ in 30 seconds flat.

I calculate that over my lifetime not only have I had to purchase a good dozen entirely incompatible light fittings for my various bikes (some of which are still rusted onto the handlebars) but spent at least six hours of my life trying to fit and/or adjust the wretched things. I’d like that time back now, please.

*although not quite bright enough to stop me hitting a patch of dirty ice and then unwisely braking requiring me to deploy God’s stabilisers and be very thankful there was only me around on the road at the time.

5 Responses to Let There Be Light

  1. Babymother says:

    Oh good. It was worth forking out all that money for then :-D

    There’s a red one for the rear. Want it for your birthday?

  2. disgruntled says:

    I’ve got a red flashy light for the back – it’s not so important as I don’t need to see by it. Save your money for that Brompton you promised me

  3. babymother says:

    Right. After you have knitted me a Fair Isle netbook cover with matching socks.

  4. disgruntled says:

    you never know, it might happen…

  5. WOL says:

    A fairisle netbook cover? You could probably find a pattern for one on the Ravelry website. That site is a garden of knitting (and crocheting) delights.

    “God’s stabilizers” — is that anything like “Shanks’ mare?” – thanks for a great chuckle to start my day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

