Don’t Just Sit There…

Blogging material is a bit light at the moment due to a combination of actual paid work keeping me stuck in the house and utterly miserable weather today making cycling problematic. (Freezing rain – I ask you, what is the point? I was supposed to cycle up to the doctor’s this morning but wimped out after the radio was full of the usual dire warnings of icy roads. The other half scoffed as we drove there along reasonably non-dicey roads but I felt somewhat vindicated when I got out of the car just outside our gate and nearly went flying. A broken bone would have been nasty, of course, but at least I would have been proved right…)

So by way of a public service – and this time for anyone who doesn’t have a mallet finger, but does have an office job – I give you this*, via Doctor Mama. And I would add as my own top tip that you should immediately move to Scotland and start heating your work space solely with a wood burning stove burning not-particularly well-seasoned wood. Not only will you soon be too cold to sit still for long periods of time except under a blanket, but you will need to get up at least every hour to refill it…
* I was pleased to note that the comment thread beneath it was immediately diverted into an unrelated discussion on cycling to work. I have been noticing for a while that the internet is increasingly made out of bicycles. I had thought that that was mostly thanks to Google’s uncanny ability to serve you up what you want and Twitter’s echo chamber effect but maybe it really is. What’s your internet made out of?

5 Responses to Don’t Just Sit There…

  1. commuterjohn says:

    Bikes, the great outdoors, gardening and the weather – there is a common thread here!

  2. Kim says:

    You could take my new approach, write to your MP/MSPs and then publish the correspondence.

  3. disgruntled says:

    John – not just me then
    Kim – my MSP wrote back using actual paper and I couldn’t be bothered to scan it in…

  4. John Gibson says:

    A broken bone would have been nasty, of course, but at least I would have been proved right…)

    Yes they will be sorry when I’m dead.
    John

  5. disgruntled says:

    Or as Spike Milligan wanted on his gravestone ‘I told you I was ill’

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237 other followers

