It’s not for Me it’s for my Mum

As regular blog readers will know, I’ve got a bit of a thing for the Paper Bike and would dearly love (but have not quite yet managed to manufacture) an excuse to buy one. And as regular cyclists will know, the next best thing if you can’t get a shiny new bike of your own is egging someone else to buy one – vicarious N+1, if you like. So I was fortunate today in being able to persuade my mum that what she really wanted was to buy a Paper Bike or at least to try one. So, this morning being fine, we snuck off to Embra to Laid Back Bikes for a test ride.

The one she tried was an eight speed model in a colour somewhere between burgundy and claret (you can have your Paper Bike any colour you like so it’s important to be precise). I was reunited with my steed from the last test ride just to keep her company and we set off for a stately spin around the Meadows, dodging festival goers with cheery tings of our bells. Given that Mum’s been hacking around on my old bike for the last year or so, she found her ride to be gloriously smooth, the position sufficiently relaxed and elegant for a former Copenhagen girl, and the completely enclosed chain and low step through extremely convenient. In short, she’s sold, so all we have to do now is choose the specification (eek! They’re not cheap) and choose the colour. I’m thinking something about the colour of a pinot noir, with perhaps a dash of merlot and not too heavy on the oak…

Setting off to the Meadows

7 Responses to It’s not for Me it’s for my Mum

  1. Well, I’m sure that I don’t have to tell you what my family think of Paper Bicycles, do we. http://flic.kr/p/aLBDiX. If you’ve got hills, like us here in Mendip-Land, go for the 8-speed jobbie. I like the “Starship Enterprise” rear carrier in your picture. Nick hadn’t developed that when we got our bike so we’ve got a standard issue Tubus job, which is fine.

  2. Ah, but did you get her to try the green Nazca recumbent, in the background? ;-)

  3. disgruntled says:

    @nigel we might forego the rack, spiffy as it is
    @kim – one step at a time! We quite liked the fully faired velomobile in the shop,now there’s a winter bike!

  4. John Gibson says:

    That’s what I call a chain guard, I have not seen one like that since I was little.
    John

  5. disgruntled says:

    I think they’re coming back into fashion again. They’re certainly practical

  6. [...] Town Mouse buys a Paper Bike for her Mum. Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like [...]

  7. [...] Rover ticket than anyone may ever have done before – as well as introducing my Mum to the delights of N+1. In September I nearly broke another mobile phone  (it’s still hanging in there though) and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

