Fishing for …

Well, thank you for all your lovely responses to yesterday’s cri du coeur – I hadn’t meant it to come across as quite such an open plea for compliments* but I’m grateful all the same. Especially today, which dawned dreich enough to keep me off the bike all morning (and then cleared up just as I’d finally given in & sent the other half down for the paper leaving me not only bike-rideless but faintly guilty at being such a wimp unnecessarily). On the plus side, a morning’s worth of rain combined with a summer’s worth of hedgerow growth blocking the drains meant that I had an opportunity this afternoon to work out my frustration by Poking Things With a Stick, followed by the satisfying gurgle when the flood water began to clear. Of such small satisfactions is a fulfilled life made, as nobody once said.

Oh, and I have found my camera. It was in my bag. For the last three months…

*oh all right then…

9 Responses to Fishing for …

  1. Jo says:

    Three months? Is that a record?

  2. disgruntled says:

    ahem. Possibly not. when we moved up here I lost my camera and didn’t have one for the first few months. Until I found it. In my bag…

  3. emma c says:

    Ah, so glad you are back and poking at the drains happily.. Am sorry I was off the radar a bit – can only endorse everyone else’s enthusiasm for your writing. PLEASE continue to keep me updated (in your lovely self-effacing humour) on your garden, the cat, spreadsheets, chicken visitors, and most of all The Ford. I love hearing about the country life and of course gardening in Scotland I find fascinating.. Yes, I did just say that. And of course I love hearing about the cycling campaigning. It is admirable and valuable work, even if I am more of a pedestrian myself and cannot comment much on it. A year ago I also read your book too, but just didn’t mention it as I thought that would be creepy. So just chin up, ok? And it was right to give us all a bit of a ‘hello?’ too. I promise to do better.. :-)

  4. disgruntled says:

    telling authors you’ve read their book is *never* creepy! we’re always absolutely delighted and it makes our day

  5. Bob says:

    Three months. eep. That’s all I got.

  6. disgruntled says:

    the peril of having a phone in your camera that’s just about acceptable …

  7. Flighty says:

    I like the picture. Lucky you getting to poke things with a stick. xx

  8. Charles says:

    She moans about lack of feedback and then takes the day off. Poking things with a stick is all very well but it needs documentation, photos, possibly a spreadsheet…

  9. disgruntled says:

    Flighty – thanks
    Charles – on its way. (OK, not the spreadsheet)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers

