Other People’s Jobs

ford signI feel somehow that four years’ obsession with the level of the ford was vindicated this morning when a driver pulled up to ask us if we knew how high it was (he being on the side of the river where the sign was broken) before he risked crossing.* If all else fails, a useful career as human depth gauge beckons – or perhaps FordCam is after all an idea whose time has come.

Meanwhile this tweet proved premature yesterday:

We had my aunt and uncle staying last night and by the time they had had arrived, had a reviving cup of tea and a bun and settled in, the road was fully flooded again. By this point it didn’t matter what the drains were doing: the water was so high it was draining off the road through the gaps between the stones in the dykes. Our guests having somehow neglected to bring waders (despite reading the blog), we decided against checking the level of the ford and retreated to spend the evening by the woodburning stove.

Today, after creating an extremely satisfying bath-emptying type whirlpool with my trusty stick, I attempted to clear the drains out properly, much to the amusement of the passing postman. As he pointed out there’s not much you can do when there’s basically a burn emptying itself onto the road faster than any culvert can clear it. That said, he’s not averse to doing the council roads department’s jobs for them either: it turns out that it was he who cracked and removed the ‘ford closed’ sign after 7 months and returned it to the depot (I did think at the time it was a bit quick), while it was a local farmer and his tractor that removed the latest tree. Perhaps we could get together with some paint and a ruler and sort out another depth gauge …

 

He then handed me our letters and the neighbour’s and asked me if I’d mind delivering them for him to save him going up the drive. Which I did. Other people’s jobs are always so much more entertaining than your own.

So if anyone would like to finish rewriting my book for me while I go out and clear some culverts, please get in touch. I’ll be the one up to my welly tops in water, poking things with a stick.

*Nine inches; he made it across with no problems

12 Responses to Other People’s Jobs

  1. Jo says:

    Does the writing job come with a woodburning stove and endless cups of tea? Count me in, if so…

  2. Charles says:

    This is more like it, the Ford and Poking things with a Stick with photos. Two out of three is quite acceptable and to expect Buzzards to appear in a blog about the Flood would be to expect to much.

  3. disgruntled says:

    Jo – it does, but there are also ford reporting duties…
    Charles – the buzzards are fortunately reluctant to fly in the rain

  4. Bob says:

    Standing in water poking about with a stick was always one of my favourite activities. It’s great fun until the water somehow manages to come over the tops of your boots though.

  5. WOL says:

    We have a saying, “It beats a poke with a sharp stick.” which is said of things which are not all that great.

  6. viviane says:

    Can I come along with Jo ? I could even translate your book into French, if needed.

  7. disgruntled says:

    Bob – me too, also damming streams (which I could do for hours as a child)
    @Wol – we have a similar one (also ‘beats a slap in the face with a wet fish’ but that may just be me)
    Viviane – you’ll all be contributing to the oil / wood bill, right?

  8. Ross Angus says:

    Hang on – aren’t you talking about The Big Society here? Twitter, To the pitchforks!

  9. [...] the ford closed to pedestrians sign was finally removed  (although, as it later turned out, by the postman rather than the roads people) – oh and I wrote what has turned out to be one of my more [...]

  10. [...] (looks like they cleaned it too) I don’t yet know. If so, my money would be on the postman, who has form on this [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

