The Appliance of Science

Look, I did warn you about the weather whinging, didn’t I? Well, stand by …

The past couple of weeks have been notable for dreich mornings which leave me sitting staring out of the window wondering if the rain will stop, or if it doesn’t, whether I can bring myself to get on the bike anyway or give in and send the other half down in the car for the paper. Invariably, if I wimp out of cycling, no sooner has the other half set off when the rain stops, the clouds lift, the wind drops and I’m left feeling like a bit of a wuss. This morning, which had gone from ‘ooh sunshine’ when we woke up to ‘intermittently pissing down’ by the time I’d had my shower, I had already had to admit defeat on the subject of hanging out the washing and break down and use the dryer. But I was determined to cycle if I could, not least because I’m coming down with a cold and I’m still convinced that the best way to see off cold germs is to get on your bike, preferably with a bit of a drenching thrown in.*

And besides, while I like to make jokes about the weather gods, I don’t actually believe** that there are in fact an entire set of deities up there who dedicate their time to making one puny cyclist’s life a misery, so clearly there was some other explanation to this apparent pattern. No doubt the clever science bloggers could explain that this apparent example of Sod’s law was all due to regression to the mean or observer bias or something and thus all I had to do was wait until the other half would have gone down for the paper and it would brighten up and I could cycle down after all. And lo and behold, I waited a bit and it did brighten up and I got on my bike and set off and anyone who knows this blog well will be able to fill in what happened next. Although, in the interest of completeness I should say that after the first 20 minutes, the sky did clear a bit and some weak November sun shone through, which was lovely and would have been even lovelier if it had also managed to stop raining.

I shall keep you posted on the progress of the cold.

* I should point out, if it isn’t already obvious, that I am NOT A DOCTOR and this is based on absolutely no evidence whatsoever so don’t blame me when you come down with double pneumonia.

** Unless of course there are, in which case I’m very sorry your Awesomenesses and it won’t happen again.

5 Responses to The Appliance of Science

  1. Jo says:

    Tut, tut, you know it’s never as bad as you think it’ll be, once you’re actually out in it. Or at least, that’s what I tell myself.

  2. WOL says:

    Apparently, we don’t have “dreich” in Texas, or if we do, we don’t call it that. Thank bog for Google, wherein I learned that too much “dreich” can make you “drookit,” which doesn’t sound like any fun at all. I have to say that if it was pissing down here even briefly or intermittently, we’d be dancing in the streets, so I’m having some difficulty sympathizing with your plight. As for the weather gods, they seem to be on a rain jag, and that little snit they pitched in the New England portion of the US has not endeared them to the locals. We’re not real wild about them here either, now that you mention it. Perhaps your wardrobe may require the addition of a SCUBA diver’s wet suit and face mask? If you can’t keep the drain poked out, you may want to consider accessorizing it with a snorkle. . .

  3. disgruntled says:

    @Jo – indeed. I did consider turning round but I told myself that and continued on. Not *entirely* sure it’s true though…
    @WOL – I think any weather that goes on and on and on and on tends to wear after a while. Here it’s fine mizzling rain, Texas has its own cross to bear

  4. welshcyclist says:

    I’m touching a large piece of wood,( if you’ll excuse the expression ) when I say this, but my experience confirms your belief, getting out on the bike does actually fight the onset of colds, flu, sore throats etc.. I haven’t had such an ailment for years, ever since I’ve been commuting by bike. On the rare occasion I’ve felt a tickle in the throat, or been a bit chesty, I just keep on riding, it just works. My theory is that instead of doing what those various deities of yours expect you to do i.e., stay in, snuggled up, it completely confuses them, leaving us cyclists to get on with it!

  5. disgruntled says:

    well they appear to have become thoroughly confused this time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

