I Can See Clearly Now…

As I may have mentioned on twitter, I’ve been having a bit of a problem with my dynamo light setup and the rain. As in, I went through a puddle and there was suddenly no light. Which given we’ve got a permapuddle right across our gate, was going to put a bit of a crimp in my night riding from now until, well May.

Twitter was all for me getting a hub dynamo, but I’ve noticed other cyclists are generally keen to spend other people’s money, and I knew the bottle dynamo had worked splendidly before. So the other half was sent out into the dusk before choir tonight to do a bit of fettling. ‘I don’t envy you your ride down to the village tonight’ he said as he came back in and dried himself off by the Rayburn having got the dynamo back properly into position (while both light and dynamo are solid pieces of German engineering, the bracket that bodges the dynamo onto the wheel is apparently stamped out of cheese).

Anyway, I’m happy to report that, once correctly positioned, the bottle dynamo works just fine and dandy even on a dark, wet, somebody’s-been-taunting-the-Weather-Gods sort of a night when the moon has gone into hiding, possibly for ever, and the rain comes at you sideways as well as downwards. It doesn’t keep you dry or anything, but it certainly lights up the road.

Although, now I come to think of it, ‘happy’ may not quite be the word…

3 Responses to I Can See Clearly Now…

  1. emma c says:

    1. Rain from all directions; I reckon you are made of the sterner stuff.
    2. Permapuddle (he he!); Are you sure you don’t need to set up measurer and give us updates?

  2. disgruntled says:

    It would certainly be easier to keep an eye on than the ford

  3. [...] yet. And yet. I have discovered something: given a good front light and a mild November night, I like cycling in the dark. There’s something almost meditative [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

