Sheep May Safely Graze

So there I was yesterday, waiting for my toast to toast while simultaneously getting my stuff together for an overly complicated two-bike, car and train journey*, looking out the window at the back garden wondering if the washing was dry yet, wondering if the sheep were going to eat it, thinking about what I’d have on my…

Hold on – sheep?

sheep on lawn

It’s a sign of how far I’ve come since moving up here that instead of rushing out and attempting to round up the sheep in a bit of a panic, I waited for my toast to be done, buttered it (got to butter your toast straight out of the toaster), and THEN rang up the person who knows whose sheep are whose and informed them that there were straying sheep to be shepherded back to their field, should anyone want them.

Oh and the sheep? I left them on the lawn. They might as well eat the grass in the back garden as anywhere at this time of year and the alternative was chasing them onto the road, which still has a mini glacier across it where the permapuddle has frozen. I didn’t fancy having anyone see the sheep and try and make an emergency stop on the ice… I did retrieve the laundry, though.

* I had to get my main bike down to the bike shop to be fixed, while taking my Brompton on to Embra.

8 Responses to Sheep May Safely Graze

  1. Rachel says:

    We spotted sheep in a neighbour’s garden the other day. Our first thought was for the neighbour’s veg, so we rushed round and found that she has a low electric fence around her veg patch. Perhaps this was not the first time this had happened.

    We then wandered around aimlessly wondering what to do. Eventually established the likely owner of the sheep (based on a local’s assessment of the state they were in) and was going to go round and let him know until another neighbour reminded me about the vicious dogs running loose there.

    Several people offered us his phone number but notably no-one said, “I’ve got his number, I’ll call him.” We tried a couple of times before giving up. Sheep were last seen heading towards the railway station. Luckily the steam trains don’t run at this time of year, but concern was expressed for the window boxes.

    I think I need to develop your more laid back approach.

  2. disgruntled says:

    It has taken me a while… had they been threatening my veg, I might have reacted differently too!

  3. disgruntled says:

    PS proof (if proof were needed) that I wasn’t always as laid back http://cityexile.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/oh-the-excitement/

  4. John Gibson says:

    That is a nice pic, thanks.
    John

  5. Charles says:

    Sheep used to invade my aunt’s garden on a regular basis, the problem stopped whn she got a small noisy terrier. Of course the superior option would be to install a haha but funnily enough I never seen one in Scotland. Anyone know why?

  6. disgruntled says:

    I don’t know about the rest of Scotland, but around here, any ditch dug would instantly become a canal… or a moat perhaps

  7. [...] In November I finally gave up on my attempt to singlehandedly keep all of the local livestock where it belongs – and actually managed to write something for publication. And this month – I’ve [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

