I Suppose it was Inevitable…

snowy hills

snowy hills

…after the last post that we should wake up to this sort of thing this morning

snow_2 snow_3

Still, it gave me a chance to further road test the tyres and they coped magnificently – although I should in the interests of accuracy point out that coming to a complete stop when travelling downhill on a mixture of ice, slush and snow is still … interesting.

Fortunately, for most of the ride, I was only stopping to take photos, so I could take my time

snow_4
Afterwards, we went out for a walk – cut short half way up the local 1-in-5 hill when things got a little slithery underfoot. Time to invest in spiked shoes as well as spiked tyres? Or leave the hillsides to the sheep until spring…

snow_5

6 Responses to I Suppose it was Inevitable…

  1. Jo says:

    Looks pretty, but the real question is what are the weather gods planning for you next month?

  2. disgruntled says:

    I’m not ruling *anything* out. But I bet they can’t produce a whole month of fine mild sunny weather …

  3. John Gibson says:

    The pictures are lovely, its snowing here at the moment, but not sticking.
    John

  4. disgruntled says:

    snowing but not sticking … what is that about? Such a waste of snow

  5. Flighty says:

    I suppose that you’re happy now, or at least relieved, at not missing out! xx

  6. 2whls3spds says:

    YakTrax I learned my lesson! I had a set of home made studded tires on my MTB. I went smuggly about. I no problems until I stopped at a traffic light and put my foot down on glare ice… I had to sort of slither my way to the edge of the road where there was some snow so I could regain my footing and upright stance. Lesson learned; ALL ground contact needs to be considered. Now about those spiked jackets…

    Aaron

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

