Raining in my House

Well, the thaw came, exactly as predicted, with a night of heavy rain to wash the snow away – accompanied by the usual dire warnings from the BBC Terror Centre of flooding and mayhem to come.

flooded road

Which were entirely justified, as it happens – although you can’t go too far wrong predicting flooding in Bigtown these days; it’s been more or less a monthly occurrence this year. The bits you can see underwater there are a Very Important Road and some Very Important Car Parking spaces the closure of which would cause gridlock, traffic chaos, economic devastation, the opening of the Hellmouth and quite possibly the end of the world, not to mention people having to walk a few hundred yards from their cars.*

The forecast now is for more rain, for more or less the foreseeable future. Which makes it an excellent time for us to discover that there is a hole in our roof…

*I mock, but as it happened I was supposed to be holding a workshop in the building just behind where the photo was taken and six people who had booked and paid in advance didn’t show up. It turns out they really won’t come if they can’t just drive up and park outside…

9 Responses to Raining in my House

  1. Flighty says:

    It’s one extreme to another! Dare I say…whatever next? xx

  2. Rebecca says:

    I hope your roof hole won’t prove to be too much of an inconvenience for very long.

    But I can’t tell you how disappointed I am to hear that parking right outside is considered a necessity anywhere in Scotland. I thought the whole of Europe was still very used to walking everywhere and climbing stairs. It’s how I’d hoped to keep my weight down when I finally get to visit again. Well, I guess a jump rope doesn’t take up too much room in a bag. Sigh.

  3. disgruntled says:

    Flighty – Frogs, definitely
    Rebecca – it is a peculiarity of Bigtown, I think. I was amazed when we moved up here that you could park practically anywhere in town for free, with the result of course that you can spend all your time driving around looking for a parking space.

  4. John Gibson says:

    The water is starting to rise in the fields around here, but we cannot compare to you. Rebecca, where are you from? They may like to walk everywhere in Europe, but in the UK it’s a different story.
    John

    • Anonymous says:

      I’m in the States, John. I’ve always assumed that we’re the laziest and most car dependent creatures on the planet. For some reason, Scotland, in particular, seemed to be populated by more hardy folk. But it’s been decades since I was there, so it’s way past time I get back and update my impressions.

  5. I seemed to recognise the bridge… what is the Big Town?

  6. disgruntled says:

    @John – it doesn’t help that the river is tidal up to the town centre – and it was around a full moon
    @LLD that’s Devorgilla Bridge

  7. thought so, we I was wed we spent our honeymoon there, well over at Moniaive to be exact.

  8. disgruntled says:

    ooh, very nice. That’s a lovely bike ride too

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

