Spring Harvest

Heading up to the veg plot yesterday to see what it is like when it isn’t doing its best impression of a rice paddy,* I was surprised to hear the sounds of voices from people working in the woods beyond. It turns out that the landlords have had the cunning wheeze of getting their snowdrops thinned for fun and profit: some nice young men come along with implements of destruction, dig up the snowdrops while they’re still in flower (so they know what they’re getting) and then pay £20 for a tray of singles – and £35 for a tray of doubles. Given that the snowdrops very quickly grow back (in fact they’re better for the thinning) and grow like weeds up here anyway, it’s a bit like finding someone willing to buy rain, or mud, or midgies (all of which I have no doubt you’re going to tell me have a lively online commodity market. OK, maybe not midgies).

Still, it put the landlord in a good mood and meanwhile I have at least managed to convert mud and rain and midge bites into a number of giant parsnips, one of which I traded for one of the landlord’s giant leeks, my own being disappointingly weedy this year. These were then converted into curried parsnip soup for lunch and, ultimately, cycling fuel (or possibly extra padding and/or insulation…) I would like to say that there can be no nobler fate for my garden’s produce but honesty compels me to state that I wouldn’t mind finding someone willing to pay me cold hard cash for crocosmia corms or, come to think of it, ground elder roots, especially if they’re willing to dig them up themselves.

Offers in the comments please. Unless you’re about to tell me that ground elder is edible, in which case I KNOW, it’s just that it also tastes like hedge.

* we have had a week – A WHOLE WEEK, people – of practically no rain. I’ve not yet heard someone complain about the drought but it’s surely only a matter of time

3 Responses to Spring Harvest

  1. jane says:

    Surely a hospipe ban cannot be far away. PS. Crocosmia corms are like Tories,they pop up everywhere, they are generally ugly, and are always muscling out weaker specimens. They even look like mini william hagues. ( if they looked like gideon we’d have to burn them out)

  2. John Gibson says:

    £20 for a tray of singles – and £35 for a tray of doubles.

    I’ve been sitting on a fortune just outside my back door for years, and I never knew it.
    John

  3. disgruntled says:

    @jane – at least with crocosmia corms you can dig them up and wheelbarrow them to the bonfire…
    @John – I didn’t find out how big the trays were, mind you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 215 other followers

