Let the Sun Shine In*

shed_windowsill

shed windowsill once the growing season gets underway

If I learned anything from my vegetable growing experience last year (and there are some who may question that…) it’s that a few really healthy plants (eg. Squash) are far more productive than a lot of weedy ones, like my leeks. Of course a whole load of really healthy plants would be more productive than anything, but that does tend to lead to problems of its own. I know already that almost nothing germinates here unless I start it off indoors, but windowsill space is at a premium around here as I haven’t a greenhouse. The kitchen windowsill is the warmest spot but faces east so anything that spends too long there tends to end up rather spindly. The only south-facing window we have is in the shed and so that’s where things get hardened off and there’s just not enough room to give everything the space it needs.

shed window

So this spring, gee’d on by Gardener’s Question Time’s seasonal tips, I decided to get the shed in a bit of order and try and increase the amount of sunny window space available so I don’t have to cram everything in so much. The other half came up with a cunning plan for putting some height in, but first I decided cleaning the window for the first time in what looks like this century would be a good idea

ancient cobwebs

I think some of those cobwebs might have been Grade II listed.

Now all we need is the sun. Oh, and time to get everything planted, of course.

*assuming it ever comes back, that is

4 Responses to Let the Sun Shine In*

  1. Paul M says:

    Rhubarb is pretty reliable, as is Spinach. Both seem to grow more, the more you harvest them.

    Have you though of cloches, or small polytunnels?

  2. disgruntled says:

    Rhubarb we have. Never had much luck with spinach, except the perpetual kind.

    I do have a couple of cloches but they don’t do much against a hard frost. And on a borrowed plot, a polytunnel would be a bit too much of an investment. I’d love one though

  3. Sarah says:

    No, they’re Scottish cobwebs. They’ll be Grade B for Group Value.

  4. disgruntled says:

    Even as I was typing that I was thinking ‘I bet it’s different in Scotland…’

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

