Freed

I really wasn’t expecting much of my ride to the papershop this morning. To be honest, I was only going out to see whether the snow had been flattened down enough that I could pick my way through the worst bits and I was fully expecting to have to turn round long before I’d got anywhere near Papershop village but look!

wall of snow

It was very odd to be cycling between walls of snow, head high in places, especially with the hillsides mostly green and free of the stuff. It seems all the roads around have been ploughed, even the ford road (scraping off several years’ accumulation of mud and vegetation in the process). It’s narrow though – exactly a vehicle’s width in most places. A couple of times I had to tuck myself into a niche in the snow to let an oncoming vehicle through – and had a nice chat with the white van man who stopped to wind down his window to say thank you. For once round here the bike really was the quicker option, once you factor in reversing half a mile to find a space where two cars can pass…

I’m not the only one who prefers to make direct contact with the ground, picking her way very carefully through the deeper bits of snow …

cat and snow

Although I noticed that when she thought there was a mouse to hunt, she forgot all about it

cat footprints

In other news, it’s been trying to snow all day, but I’m ignoring it.

2 Responses to Freed

  1. sue guiney says:

    I keep looking at all these pictures of UK snow and wondering how I’ll handle it after 6 weeks in 40 degree Cambodia. Dreading it, to be honest. But it does look beautiful in your photos.

  2. disgruntled says:

    It depends on where you are in the UK I think – even in Edinburgh they haven’t much snow. But I could be doing with some of that 40 degree heat right now…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 215 other followers

