Winter Gardening

First find your leeks…

snow covered leeks

Actually, scratch that – first find your basket…

snow covered basket

In the interests of strict accuracy these pictures were taken a couple of days back, and today we’ve had actual sunshine and, if not warmth, at least the return of sensation to our fingers and toes. The snow is also gradually melting, although I expect the big piles along the roadsides will be with us for a while.

I had hoped that the snow would offer me one benefit – I might find out who or what has been eating my kale, which has basically been reduced to sticks. Yesterday, the other half reported pheasant footprints around the kale bed in the snow, so I went up this afternoon to get documentary proof only to discover this:

non-snow-covered kale

The miscreant has obviously been watching CSI:Bigtown and has decided to cover its tracks. As this would make it some kind of garden criminal mastermind, I think we can pretty well eliminate pheasants from our enquiries…

Update

I wish a certain grey furry miscreant would learn the same trick

muddy cat footprints

5 Responses to Winter Gardening

  1. John Gibson says:

    Is that a sink, surely cats would not go near that.
    John

  2. disgruntled says:

    The bath! But she also left her footprints in the sink for good measure (and the floor, windowsill, window…)

  3. Paul M says:

    I trust you appreciate just what a privilege it is that a cat has chosen YOU to serve it. Many are called (on) but few are chosen!

  4. disgruntled says:

    Oh we’re just the cat’s back up humans. And I’m definitely less in favour than the other half. I know my place

  5. [...] to protect your kale from marauding pheasants, while also promoting cycling. Seems to work a treat too [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

