The Ride of Shame

It’s been a while since I last had to slowly retrace my steps on a bike, looking for an errant phone – six months in fact, which must be some sort of a record – but a brief bike ride with my mother this morning ended up doubled as I got back and realised my phone wasn’t in my pocket any more.* The phone was found but it had obviously been dropped one time too many and this time the screen is partially borked making it very difficult to use it to keep up with twitter and check my emails, let alone take photographs, or send text messages. I think it still rings and makes calls but who actually uses their phone for that these days?

I shall go through the motions of attempting to get it fixed but not with any real hope of success. Time for the trip of shame down to the phone shop for another doomed gadget, with apologies to the planet – unless anyone’s got a phone they want rid of? I’d say it would be going to a good home, but that would be a lie…

*If you’re planning on saving money by riding a bike, you really need to factor in the toll it takes on dropped shiny toys – or get yourself some zip up pockets and actually zip them up. Something which I seem to be entirely incapable of…

4 Responses to The Ride of Shame

  1. Charles says:

    Driven over one, fell in the river fishing with another, phones lost in pubs do not count nor does the odd one destroyed by percussive maintenance. When you do keep them a long time they just die anyway…

  2. disgruntled says:

    Heh. How many were destroyed by percussive maintenance *in* the pub?

  3. Have an HTC Desire Z, if you are interested..

    just send me an address…

    Charles

  4. disgruntled says:

    Seriously? Email on its way…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

