Spawn of the …

… frog, presumably. I was just rinsing off my boots in the permapuddle that stretches across our drive after some last-minute what-the-hell-was-I-thinking-agreeing-to-a-week-away-in-April gardening* when I noticed that it had taken on a certain pond-like aspect

frogspawn

Either mama frog has faith in our having another wet summer, or her babies had all been washed out of the top pond during the recent rain. I didn’t want them run over (boy would that take ages to report to the Splatter Project – 479 individually squashed tadpoles) so I decided to transport them back up to the pond. As there genuinely is a hole in my main gardening bucket, dear Henry, I used a 5-litre ice cream tub instead, and each blob there pretty much filled it, so that’s a lot of frogspawn. I can tell you now, persuading it into the ice cream tub without – ewww – touching it, is not child’s play (actually, come to think of it, for a certain value of child, that’s *exactly* what it is. It’s not adult friendly though). Put it this way, it put me in mind of the old joke about the spittoon, which is too revolting to recount here.

Anyway, I managed it, the frogspawn have been moved where they may undoubtedly end up being eaten but at least won’t be run over. And hopefully when we get back there will be developments to report…

frogspawn closeup

*tatties, onions, garlic, parsnips and broad beans all planted out…

6 Responses to Spawn of the …

  1. Frog eggs are gross, but your description of moving them was funny.

  2. Amber says:

    Oh how cool! I spotted a leopard frog around our little fish pond last summer. Maybe it will breed in my little pond :) I’d be thrilled to have tadpoles.

  3. Flighty says:

    That sounds like a rubber gloves job to me! xx

  4. disgruntled says:

    Even with gloves it was kind of revolting. A bit … slithery

    Let’s see if they hatch

  5. […] other half had reported that the pond behind the house where I had put the rescued frogspawn was full of tadpoles so I wandered up to have a look. I didn’t see any actual tadpoles […]

  6. […] casualty is the permapuddle that has stretched across our drive for long enough to gain its own wildlife. They have rerouted the burn back into the pipe it is supposed to flow into, rather than across the […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

