Caution Safety Chickens at Work

I was cycling back with the paper the other day when I heard the unmistakeable note of a car winding up to overtake me. As it was a bit of a twisty narrow section of road on the approach to nearest village, I held my line until I got to the entrance to the village where the road widens out enough to allow a driver to pass. It was just at that moment that I saw the two safety hens were out, with one of them ever so slowly beginning to make her way across the road. I signalled to the car behind that perhaps it might not want to overtake me after all (what is the international signal for a chicken crossing ahead? Possibly something Peter Sagan might do crossing the finish line…) and then both car and I waited while the bird walked meditatively across the road, inspecting the surface every now and then for interesting things to eat. Given that the car was a hatchback with two youngish lads in it (by then making chicken noises at her out the window, but refraining from attempting to run her down) this was impressive stuff.

It would be even more impressive if there were still three safety chickens, rather than the two that remain, but you can’t have everything. Now all we need to do is roll the safety chicken programme out nationwide, and I can stop organising monster cycle demonstrations and go back to pottering in my garden and inspecting the ford, where there have been developments.

4 Responses to Caution Safety Chickens at Work

  1. Jane says:

    Developments? what developments?

  2. disgruntled says:

    we need a few days of dry weather, and I can show you

  3. Anonymous says:

    I also would like to know . What are these developments ?
    L

  4. disgruntled says:

    heh. Not that exciting really…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

