The Cat Came Back

We’re delighted to see our neighbour returned – albeit only for a few more weeks – along with his cat. We’ve missed them both, although I’m not sure the same can be said for the cat who greeted me with the sort of polite yet distant attention a minor royal might muster on being introduced to the back room kitchen staff. She spent her first night back out marauding, and then the morning miaowing piteously outside the neighbour’s door for he is not an early riser and she has apparently got used to the amenities of a cat flap at her new home. I was out binge gardening, to make the most of some miraculous sunshine (on a bank holiday weekend – are the weather gods ill?) and a temporary hiatus between cycle campaigns, and had rather forgotten the cat until I went into our bedroom and found I had rudely woken her royal highness up from her post marauding nap. I can see we’re going to have to rearrange ourselves back around her convenience.

And the cat’s not all. Walking up to the compost heap I found myself under observation from a nice little flock of Black Rock hens – the landlord’s new arrivals. They appear to have made themselves at home in the grounds between our cottage and the main house, which overlaps with the cat’s territory. It will be interesting to see which out of the hens and the cat will hold this new ground. If these new birds are anything like the old ones, my money isn’t on the cat…

7 Responses to The Cat Came Back

  1. Flighty says:

    I found myself nodding and smiling at this post. xx

  2. Your title is surely referring to this:

    It does briefly feature a bike after all!

  3. disgruntled says:

    I never know where these things come from. Just one of those phrases that rattles around in my head.

  4. Charles says:

    Well if the cat prefers to leave that ground to the chickens who can blame her?

  5. disgruntled says:

    True. She’s been spotted stalking pheasants though…

  6. Charles says:

    Game cat is all I can say…..

  7. […] for blog fodder – the neighbour is finally and definitely moving out this week and taking her royal highness with […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

