Ten Signs you May have been Living in the Country too Long…

  1. You think it’s acceptable to wear a fleece indoors
  2. You think it’s acceptable to wear a fleece outdoors
  3. If a tree falls in a forest, you think ‘I wonder if anyone would mind if I just took some of the wood?’
  4. You talk to people at bus stops, even in London
  5. You are horribly offended if other road users don’t acknowledge your greeting
  6. You recognise your neighbours from their cars
  7. You also recognise their sheep
  8. You no longer worry about other people’s sheep
  9. You don’t throw or give things away, you just store them in a shed in case they come in handy later
  10. You can no longer imagine living with just the one shed.

Ye gods, it really has been over five years…

27 Responses to Ten Signs you May have been Living in the Country too Long…

  1. kevinmayne says:

    Wow – you have seen my sheds….

    All so true

  2. disgruntled says:

    we have three. One for me, one for the other half, one for the swallows and one for the wood. Hang on, that’s four…

  3. stcleve says:

    So true and I even know my neighbours number plates. 3 sheds and a roundhouse in the garden.

  4. bbooker7 says:

    The grass is always greener! On the other hand, you may be correct …

    Brian Booker

    ~ sent from nexus 7 pad ~

  5. disgruntled says:

    Ah sheds. Might have known that would get the comments going!

  6. Max says:

    Oddly enough, I was out trying to buy a shed today. I got into a long discussion with the shedwright*, after he told me I’d have to wait longer for my shed to be delivered than for a gold IPhone 5s. It seems that business had been very bad until May, when apparently the entire world suddenly decided it needed a new shed. Perhaps economists might be able to use the gross national shed output as a leading indicator of economic activity?

    * If this isn’t a real,word, then it ought to be!

    P.S. in the end we compromised: I bought an ex demonstrator shed (good condition, low mileage) for a small discount, delivery next week.

    Max

  7. No, No! Not living in the country for too long, just long enough to start to understand the ways of the country, this is but the beginning…

  8. disgruntled says:

    @Max, ah but worth the wait surely? And unlike an iPhone, a shed is for life
    @UHDD – my worry is that we can never move back now, as we have so much crap in our sheds

  9. Anonymous says:

    And don’t forget, you become used to leaving the keys in the ignition of your vehicle and all your doors unlocked, which is a bit of a challenge for us when we visit our brother in the country.

  10. Bob says:

    Oh drat! I just became “Anonymous”. Sorry. I forgot that I’ve been tinkering with some computer stuff today and had to punt out a couple nasty bits.
    Here I am.

  11. geoffrone says:

    Yes but do you walk around with a saw in your pocket in case you see a nice bit of hazel for a walking stick – then stick it with the other 20 in the shed?

  12. disgruntled says:

    @Bob – yeah, leaving the bike unlocked when I’m just popping into a shop is a bad habit …
    @Geoff – it would all end up looking a bit like kindling to me

  13. Paul M says:

    It gets worse – when you have been living in the country for 10 years, you start to think it is acceptable to wear a cardigan outdoors!

    A friend of ours used to swoop on every fallen tree he heard of, with his chainsaw. Until the National Trust ranger caught him. Now he has a deal – come and do a day’s volunteering wood clearing, and then you can take as much wood away as you want.

  14. Rachel says:

    4a When you walk into a pub, you nod to all the people at the bar.
    This can get you strange looks when you do it in town.

    As for sheds… some visitors to our house think it would be better with the ground floor converted to living space. We prefer to stick with garage/sheds equal to the size of the house.

  15. disgruntled says:

    @Paul – don’t know about cardigans but I have been known to nip out to one of the sheds in my slippers
    @Rachel – oh I wish. But we’re miles from any pub here so not on nodding terms when we do go in

  16. Jenny says:

    Firstly, I’m very impressed that you always quite kindly respond to all your comment givers. Re the country list – most of that would be true of us down here in the largest city in NZ, except the sheep recognition thing. I believe there are six sheep for every New Zealander, but I haven’t met mine yet. OUR farmers hog all the sheep for themselves, however, and I’d be hard pressed to pick from the herd of thousands which farmer they belong to – you know, all look sort of white and woolly. I’m almost ready to buy another shed myself.

  17. Charles says:

    My mother has two sheds and a garage. My cousin has a huge purpose build shed, a small shed and a garage. Do you know anyone who actually keeps a car in their garage?

  18. Shed studio, shed workshop, wood shed, bike shed, dog shed, chicken shed… nine years and counting!

  19. disgruntled says:

    @Jenny – go for it. I only need to recognise the escaped sheep, which seems to be most of them at the moment
    @Charles – our first neighbour here used to keep his in the garage, which we considered very strange. As was he
    @Victoria – I wonder if there’s some sort of average shed acquisition rate …

  20. Christine says:

    Husband has 2 sheds, we share 2 large store cupboards and I have a (small) wool store shed for the yarn stash. Now not big enough: the yarn is fillings spaces all over everywhere! And I only recognise the sheep that have pretty patterns on their wool, I covet their colours for jumpers. Lived in the country for 38 years and planning to stay.

  21. disgruntled says:

    sounds like you’re losing out on the sheds…

  22. I’m really surprised no-one’s linked to this: http://youtu.be/HLjS3gzHetA yet. On second thoughts, perhaps I’m not.

  23. disgruntled says:

    It was going through my head…

  24. Lesley says:

    I read your list with interest and a huge smile – have you been spying on us or have I also been living in the country to long?

  25. […] worrying less about other people’s sheep these days, there are still some things I can’t ignore. Riding down to the papershop this […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

