A Single Step…

Oh dear, a month has passed since I blogged about the state my garden is in, and it’s not looking that much better now. Which isn’t very surprising because I’ve not been doing all that much about it. I’ve just had too much to do and I’ve allowed the garden to be the thing that slips. And if I’m honest, it’s felt like I have got so behind with things that there was no point spending the time I did have up in the garden. It had gone from being a pleasant escape from the computer and a chance to do something productive out in the fresh air, to this big looming thing that needed to be done along with all the other THINGS that needed to be done with the end result that if my veg plot was an allotment I’d probably be getting one of those stiff letters from the committee by now.

veg_plot_september veg_plot mess

Fortunately it’s not, although I am there at the indulgence of the landlord, so there’s a limit to how far I can let things slip. So this week I’ve actually been following my own advice and putting in a regular hour a day getting on with what needs to be done (when I haven’t been harassing hard-working vole families). So far without much visible results, but I hope by the end of the week I can at least put up an ‘after’ shot that will look measurably different from these ones.

Watch this space

4 Responses to A Single Step…

  1. Andy in Germany says:

    It is comforting to know I’m not alone, although I notice you haven’t reached the point as yet where the weeds are taller than you.

    Fortunately we don’t have an allotment comittee, so as long as my brambles don’t invade the neighbours garden too much I’m generally okay.

    I’m trying to do the same over winter: sort as much as I can on a regular basis in the hope it gradually makes a difference. Having a cold at the moment isn’t helping though.

  2. Flighty says:

    Just try and do a bit most days and you’ll soon start to see the difference. xx

  3. Charles says:

    Napoleon decided that after building the routes national that they should be lined with trees to provide shade for his marching troops. He was told it would take years, his response was to say that we must start now!

    When confronted with a giant mess or many tasks it helps to grab one small bit and deal with it. Success in small steps is better than trying to do everything at once.

    Therefore attack at least one weed every day! Simples!

  4. […] so I have for once been sticking to my well-laid plan of working on the garden for an hour a day.* And in the spirit of keeping myself honest, here is the result of the first […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

