Demonstrative

Looking back, and not all that far back either, it’s a bit strange to note that less than two years ago I was contemplating going on my first demonstration in almost two decades. Little did I know that three months later I’d be organising one of my own, on a slightly larger scale. I suppose these things get to be a little addictive.

So it’s perhaps unsurprising that next Wednesday I’ll be heading up to Edinburgh again, to ask the Scottish Government for more money for active travel again. Not so much Pedal on Parliament as Stand Around Outside St Andrew’s House, but all in a similar cause. And at least I don’t have to be the one to organise it either – this one is the brainchild of the good people of the Stop Climate Chaos Coalition.*

So if you’re in Edinburgh and you walk or ride a bike or would like to ride a bike or walk or know and love someone who rides a bike or walks – which I think covers pretty much everyone except Eric Pickles – then you should come along and join us. I don’t think anyone who reads this blog regularly needs to be told about the benefits of active travel, the joys (and occasional non-joys) of cycling, the difficulty we face trying to find safe routes for kids to cycle to school and all the other manifold reasons why investing in cycle paths might be a better idea than, say, more roads. But these things don’t happen by themselves, you have to go out and ask …

Go on, everyone else is doing it…

*If the weather forecast for the weekend is anything to go by, they’d better hurry.

5 Responses to Demonstrative

  1. Flighty says:

    Have a good day on Wednesday. xx

  2. disgruntled says:

    Thanks – I hope we get a big turnout

  3. Charles says:

    I hope your weather is ok. We have had rain and wind in London.

  4. disgruntled says:

    We’ve got sunshine and showers up here – bit breezy but nothing like the reports on the radio for down south

  5. […] teeny bit unfair of the Weather Gods to wreak their revenge on me just as I was cycling home from a climate change demonstration – but then again, perhaps the Weather Gods are all for climate change as it gives them the […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers

