Extinguishing the Candle at One End

As alert readers may have noticed, I’ve been a bit busy recently. Not just all the gadding about of the last few weeks, but at some point in the preceding months I have managed to go from doing occasional welcome freelance jobs to being somehow employed more or less full time. Adding in all the various cycling stuff I do – and my writing, which is technically supposed to be my day job – then I was left with very little time to do all the things we moved up here in order to be able to do.

So I have decided, if I can, to rebalance my life a little, at least over December. My resolve has been strengthened by the fact that I’ve come back from That London and its plentiful and germ-filled public transport with some sort of lurgy (having compounded my error by staying in a house with school-age children – I’m surprised that the other half didn’t institute some sort of a quarantine arrangement on my return). Occasionally you have to listen to what your body is telling you, even if it is doing so through the medium of pain and snot. I still have a few more commitments to get through (like running a pop-up bookshop today, as you do, and oh look I’ve got something on every evening next week) but then I’m going to be strict about clearing the decks and concentrating on what really matters. Like blogging.

So stand by for more updates about the important stuff in life. Like getting the garden ready for winter, going for long walks, curling up in front of the fire, and – of course – updating you on the level of the ford.

7 Responses to Extinguishing the Candle at One End

  1. John Gibson says:

    I have managed to go from doing occasional welcome freelance jobs to being somehow employed more or less full time.
    I hope you are earning a few shillings, for christmas treats.
    John

  2. disgruntled says:

    oh yes, it’s all welcome financially

  3. scsmith4 says:

    We seem to be attempting a similar feat from opposing angles!
    For me, rebalancing has meant not letting any one thing take over my life to the detriment of other parts of it again. Down with the single-minded university / work / slobbing approach I used to have; up with juggling studying, work, a social life, reading, baking, slobbing… My wall planner looks like it’s got rainbow measles, but I’m finding things much more enjoyable. Tiring, yes. But it’s a different type of tired. I actually feel well rounded, and not just in the too-much-cake sense.
    Ask me whether this approach is working come January…

  4. CJ says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon and that you manage to have some time to yourself. I shall look forward to your many coming blog posts.

  5. Flighty says:

    I hope that you feel better soon. It’s good to see that you’re getting your priorities right for the winter. xx

  6. John says:

    With all this free time you can now settle into all the things Christmas brings, Card writing, present buying and wrapping, sending, giving……
    I would take off January as well just to be on the safe side!

  7. […] of my friends has decided to scale back her activities for a little while, having managed to take on lots of Good, Important and Interesting things, and now finding herself […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

