Strange Bedfellows

I was settling down today to a productive morning of not completing my second novel, dashing out to rescue the laundry from the rain, forgetting to take the sausages out of the freezer and sending the occasional tweet about the loss of my tweed cap when another tweet alerted me to the fact that my name was included in this.

And for those of you who don’t wish to wade through a long PDF, the short version is that Pedal on Parliament in general (and for some reason myself in particular) have been included in a list of 100 campaigns that are changing the world – alongside Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall’s Fish Fight, Malala Yousafzi and Pussy Riot. Which will make today the first (and I suspect the last) time my name has ever been found alongside such hallowed company. We’ve also therefore been longlisted for the Change Opinion Awards 2014, which I very much doubt we will win, although if we do make it as far as the awards ceremony and Hugh Fearnley-Washingup does too then I shall start an additional personal campaign to get him to not start every sentence of his recipies with the words ‘In another bowl/pan/dish…’

Meanwhile, my hat is still missing, feared lost, possibly on Monday’s epic ride (or rather in the pub afterwards). With ASBO buzzard season almost upon us, this could prove fatal to any campaign for safer cycling in Scotland…

5 Responses to Strange Bedfellows

  1. John says:

    Congratulations on your achievement!
    I believe personally that most hats are lost from pockets at or near any chair or table that you care too sit on whilst out and about.
    It is a rarity for me to lose a hat on the bike as I tend to keep a bobble hat in the bag in case the weather turns very windy to avoid the inevitable baseball cap getting caught by the wind just as you are braking with both hands and cant grab it!
    If I stop for a coffee whilst out and put my hat in my pocket then it is a 50/50 chance someone will call out to me whilst leaving that I have dropped my hat!

  2. stcleve says:

    Well deserved and maybe the winners prize may be a new cap. Such a shame you list it as it was barely run in.

  3. Wow, get you, up there with Huge Fearnley-eat-it-all. We’re near this fine establishment at the moment. http://www.cycle-heaven.co.uk/

  4. disgruntled says:

    Cheers guys. I thought I had a foolproof way of not losing my hat, which was to put it on the table with my gloves and phone inside it, to remind me to pick them all up, but I forgot to do this this time

  5. […] on Bigtown station platform and kept for my return, but the other has vanished, to join my last two hats and at least four right hand gloves (I never lose the left-hand ones for some reason) in the great […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

