Facts on the Ground

It’s that time of year when you only have to turn your back on a bulb of garlic and it turns into this

garlic bulb sprouting

So it got re-allocated from kitchen duties to joining the overwintering (and by ‘overwintering’ I mean ‘lost track of last summer and only rediscovered it when it sprouted’) garlic up in the veg plot.

overwintering garlic

The garden feels massively behind this year, but things are warming up at last and spring is advancing. Tempting though it is to dive in and go mad on a glorious sunny breezy day like today, the soil is still very damp and claggy and there are frosts forecast so I’m having to hold back from planting anything just yet, apart from the chitted parsnips. Everything else is crammed onto the shed windowsill biding its time with varying degrees of patience – I have to be a bit careful walking past the pea seedlings, lest they start climbing up my leg.

broad beans in flower

Thank goodness for my autumn-planted broad beans. Battered they may be, but they are magnificently in flower. Even though I’ve done practically nothing except take a punt and stick some in the ground last year on the off chance, it almost makes me feel like a real gardener…

4 Responses to Facts on the Ground

  1. John Gibson says:

    That garlic is most impressive. I have just cleaned up the garden a bit, and I have brought in the sandbags from out the front of the house, and already some growth is apearing where the sandbags use to be.
    John

  2. CJ says:

    Your broad beans are really impressive. Mine are at the seeding stage, and every night a slug eats one.

  3. disgruntled says:

    @John – it’s tescos rather than my own, sadly
    @CJ – the autumn planting does get them a bit of a head start on the slugs, but only the ones that survive. Must get the beer traps out again

  4. Charles Lock says:

    The shallots I planted in November have disappeared, MIA, gone AWOL. Given that I have a tiny garden I suspect aliens, or failing that , slugs…However looking at your magnificent broad beans I am remined of “some seeds fell on stony ground” is their any soil in your garden or do plants grow hydroponically, nourished by constant Scottish rain?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

