See You Next Tuesday

I’m off to London today again, so posts will be thin on the ground until then. My oyster card and A-Z are packed, my seats are booked, and I have just realised I have made a major tactical error in arriving in London just after five and having to get from Euston to Waterloo with my wheely suitcase during Friday’s rush hour. Oops. Here’s hoping my city-honed commuting reflexes haven’t grown too flabby over the past year.

Apologies in advance to anyone else attempting the same journey. I’ll be the one trying to feed my oyster into the little slot of the ticket barrier. That is how it works, right?

4 Responses to See You Next Tuesday

  1. Flighty says:

    Have a good weekend! xx

  2. Gregory says:

    Uni is finished so I’m going back on Monday. I’ll cycle Kings Cross to Waterloo but tthen have to get a frequently stopping train out to the other side. I think I get back just before 5 so will miss it all.

    Good luck with your trip. You slap the oyster card on once and then remove it as/when the barrier opens. PLEASE don’t tap it loads: you will get through fine, but the machine will then pause before accepting the next person, just enough to be annoying in the commuter rush and cause a pile up as the flow of the barrier quee is disturbed.

  3. Autolycus says:

    As I write this, you’re probably spilling your tea on some points near Rugby, or sat fuming at a standstill outside Crewe. But I’m sure plenty of people will be offering you useful advice on what to do with your luggage once you get into the tube…..

  4. disgruntled says:

    Flighty – thanks
    Gregory – I was about to huffyily point out that I know how to use an oyster, I used to be Disgruntled commuter, damnit, but see today’s post…
    Auty – fortunately thanks to the combined efforts of Scotrail and Virgin, I got into London well after rush hour

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.