Garden Mysteries

OK, I have absolutely no idea how this happened

I’m pretty sure I planted only white potatoes, and I surely would have noticed if the seed potato had been that pink. And that bed hasn’t been used for potatoes all the time I’ve had it, so it’s not a volunteer.

Still, they scrub up pretty nicely, so I’m not complaining


… although as I went to get the hose to clean them off I realised that all that rain and then going gallivanting about in London meant I was definitely behind with the weeding

There will have to be some serious gardening done tomorrow, I think

8 Responses to Garden Mysteries

  1. Jane says:

    Pretending to be beetroot in the hope you won’t eat them?

  2. Flighty says:

    The seed potato(es) would have been quite pale in comparison to those, little more than a pinkish-white.
    They look okay, and I would say that they’re Desiree which is a main crop variety that I grow but have yet to lift any. xx

  3. Andy in Germany says:

    I’ve got that in my garden too: it has taken to climbing up the courgettes and it’s pretty fast: I’m wondering if the reduction in slugs is because that stuff captures and eats them.

  4. Nick says:

    The potatoe equivalent of suntan perhaps? (Or perhaps not.)

  5. Nick says:

    Oh god, my spelling doesn’t improve! Sorry about that.

  6. Bob says:

    I normally don’t get too excited about spuds (see, I avoided that whole spelling issue) but those do look rather nice.
    Just as well you’re back in the garden and not peddling around London. Not a good place for bikes it seems. Will it ever get any better, or must more poor hapless souls be run over by monster buses?

  7. emma c says:

    Potatoes are always good for a surpise eh? Mine this year were all teensy. Don’t understand it at all.

  8. disgruntled says:

    Well, they taste like potatoes anyway.

Leave a Reply

