Oh Nos…

We’ve not had much of a summer this year – although I don’t think it was particularly worse than last summer – but we have at least had the lovely long days that summer brings. As the rain often clears up in the evening, it gives us the (largely theoretical) chance to get out and do all those summer things even when it’s been hissing down all day, even if in practice I mostly spent the evenings on twitter.

But then, tonight, leaving the choir after the first session – restarted now that the schools are back – horrors! It was dusk! Time to put my lights on and pedal back to the whirr of the dynamo, the first time I’ve heard it for months.

It’s all downhill from here. And not in the good, cycling sense of ‘downhill’ either…

5 Responses to Oh Nos…

  1. Flighty says:

    The temperature looks set to dip into single figures centigrade here tonight which is another ‘downhill’ sign! xx

  2. Oh dear, I know it’s no comfort, but remember – what’s downhill for you, is uphill for someone else – on the FAR side of the world, where winter and winds and rain have been doing their darndest, and a glimpse of longer days and the sun have been causing me to brush off my spokes, puff up my wheels and get out there again. Oh joy.

  3. disgruntled says:

    Flighty – they were talking about ‘grass frost’ on the forecast here…
    Jenny – I’ve got to get myself a boat and spend my life travelling between the two. Enjoy your summer & I hope it’s better than ours was

  4. Andy in Germany says:

    Urg: what happened to summer?

    Here the weather likes to play with us: we’ll have warm autumn evenings until late September and then it’ll be miserable for about a month until snow comes and buries everything.

  5. disgruntled says:

    I know. I was looking at a picture taken in March and I was just in shirtsleeves – we joked then that it was our summer, and we were right…

Leave a Reply

