Travels With(out) My Brompton

So I am down in London for a secret undisclosed happening which I can’t tell you about (it’s not that exciting, so don’t get your hopes up) and there was much umming and ahing about whether or not to bring the Brompton. After all, taking the Brompton down to London to be like all the other trendy London cyclists was part of the point in the first place, but I’m only down for a couple of days and don’t have to do much in the way of gadding about and it’s a bit of a pain to bring along just on the off chance that I might need a Brompton, especially with the weather turned distinctly autumnal. In the end I decided to go without and stepped onto the train pleased to be unencumbered.

That feeling lasted until about the next stop when a chap got on with HIS Brompton and tucked it into the luggage rack behind my seat with that air of modest pride that only Brompton owners who travel with their Brompton have. Naturally – for you can no more travel with a Brompton and not get into conversation with strangers than you can with a large boisterous puppy – he was soon happily enthusing to the people sitting opposite him about its convenience, how nippy it was, how his life had been transformed – indeed, had we not been in a Virgin Sardineolino, I’m sure he would have leapt up to demonstrate The Fold, and even given them a go down the corridor of the train. By Wigan North Western he and they were firm friends and I was sitting sadly on my own, Bromptonless, without so much as a secret signal or badge to signify that I too had a Brompton, just as good as his – indeed better, because it was MINE.

And then, of course, as we alighted at London I remembered that summer goes on a bit longer down here so it was looking rather promising for cycling. Not only that but my sister tells me that on Wednesday they will be attempting the assault on the school run by bike and my Brompton would be just the thing…

5 Responses to Travels With(out) My Brompton

  1. John Gibson says:

    Bromptonless. You have made me sad.
    John

  2. Bob says:

    You poor thing. I too am sadden at the news of your Bromptonless travel. *sniff*.
    But never mind, there will be other trips.

  3. disgruntled says:

    heh. Detecting a bit of sarcasm here…

  4. I have just read and thoroughly enjoyed this post. Not sure why I went and downloaded the Brompton brochure…

  5. disgruntled says:

    you’re very welcome to try mine…

Leave a Reply

