Where is Everybody?

I’m mildly concerned to note that the last ten posts I’ve put up here have garnered (excluding my own and trackbacks) 0,0,1,2,1,1,1,1,3 and 0 comments (although one did get 12 ‘likes’ – tagging a post with ‘photography’ never fails) – even news of the ford couldn’t stir much interest amongst you. Blogging is feeling increasingly like talking to myself these days, especially when you’ve got the constant conversation of twitter going on elsewhere (including a few people tweeting responses to my blog posts). By comparison, looking back a year, the last ten posts in October 2011 got 8,7,3,2,7,5,11,5,11 and 16 comments (some of which was you lot talking to each other as much as commenting) and the year before that the still respectable 5,6,2,8,7,4,3,11,3,5 and 9. It’s not that I’m not getting the same numbers of visitors, as my stats are mainly up, but whoever they are, they’re not saying much. I can’t help feeling (as I sadly check my email for news of any activity on the blog) that once more I’ve written something worthy of nothing more than ‘meh’.

But then again I’m also noticing I’m commenting less myself – partly because Blogger has made commenting on someone else’s blog a right royal pain in the arse, if not downright impossible – but also maybe because I, too, occasionally just respond via twitter or retweet rather than adding something of my own. Which is a shame. Looking back at the older posts just now, I was reminded that half the value lies in the comments, particularly on some of the more abstruse topics. In the past you’ve told me how to fit a dynamo light, re-proof my apocalypse proof jacket (which, indeed, was also named by a commenter), and given more potato recipes than I could shake a stick at. All there, neatly archived. Twitter’s great for having a natter – even for answering questions – but it’s like an ever-rolling stream. Once a week, day, even an hour has passed that informative tweet or question has passed into history, never to be found again. On the blog, information on such obscure topics as mallet finger, the use of coffee grounds in horticulture or even cartoons about cats is still all there, long after the commenters who left it have moved on.

And yes, I realised that writing a blog post about how few comments you’re getting sounds a somewhat desperate, but then again, maybe I am. I liked having a bunch of friendly and informative strangers popping by and topping my jokes with even better ones – in fact some no longer feel like strangers any more. Now I’ve got much less idea who’s reading, let alone what they think. It’s like going from sitting in the local pub to sitting on a crowded tube. Just as many people, but somehow not the same.

Anyway, if you’re there – hello?! – drop a line in the comments and let me know. Tell me what you think. Tell me if commenting’s dropped off around your way as well. Tell me I’ve gotten awfully dull and repetitive these last few months if you like – I can take it.* Just don’t do it in a tweet …

*actually I can’t, I’ll lie awake obsessing about it all night, but I know you won’t let that stop you.

37 Responses to Where is Everybody?

  1. centraluser says:

    Lurker here!

    I read every word, via RSS.

    My blogging has definitely taken a downward lurch, as has my commenting. As for my receipt of comments, that has always been fairly minimal, so doesn’t bother me too much.

    My suspicion that the immediacy of Twitter appeals rather more to human nature than the ‘hope more than expectation’ of feedback on blog posts.

    On occasion I’ve even taken to announcing posts via a link on Twitter. Desperate times call for desperate measures….

    Keep up the good work.

    CU

  2. A lovely example of why I don’t reply to blogs much. I have just written out my reply to you and proceeded to post only to find I had to log on and of course I had orgtten my password. Got a new one. Now trying again but don’t hold your breath for frequent replies. Good luck.

  3. Jo says:

    *waves*

    Guilty as charged… well, when it comes to doing no more than clicking ‘like’ on WP blogs and not doing anything at all on blogspots. I don’t know why. Maybe we’ve just become lazy and are too comfortable with being spoonfed by social media/communities?

  4. Bob says:

    Fear not. The faithful followers are out here. I just don’t comment for the sake of commenting. Maybe “silence is golden” shouldn’t apply to blogs. I’ll smarten up, but I still might not have much to say.
    Dreadfully sorry, but I don’t “tweet” or “twit” or whateverthehell. Only got one oar in the water as it is.

  5. Flighty says:

    Hello I’m here! Yours is one of several blogs that I have always enjoyed reading but rarely comment on. I really don’t know why that is but if you’re wondering if it’s because you don’t comment on my blog I assure you that it’s not.
    Despite being on Facebook, Twitter and various forums I still prefer, and enjoy, blogging – doing mine, reading others and commenting.
    I would certainly be sorry to see you stop blogging! xx

  6. disgruntled says:

    Ah well at least open desperation works! Thanks for the nice comments guys

  7. commuterjohn says:

    Just because you don’t get replies doesn’t mean people are not reading your blog!
    In a hectic world we see your latest blog bleep up and yes read it at some point during the evening.
    Why don’t people respond – sometimes you write a short story and finish it off yourself without really giving much room to comment on it, where as the bike dynamo plea for help got you all the replies you wanted, much like your other bike helps questions.
    Now I have bored all your others readers off to sleep zzzzzz

  8. disgruntled says:

    boring people to sleep is my job…

  9. Anonymous says:

    I read evryday but don’t type and am not v witty etc so merely lurk.

  10. I have noticed a recent drop in traffic to my blog too…

  11. disgruntled says:

    cheers anon – lurkers are fine too.
    Kim – if traffic was down significantly I would understand it, but it’s not (though stats can be very unreliable) – it’s just people don’t seem to have anything to say (unless I beg of course)

  12. Rebecca says:

    I’m still reading from my feed reader, as I’ve done for years. I’ve pretty much stopped blogging since beginning Twitter…which made me realize how many posts were mainly about short observations. Now, I will post a series of 3 or 4 Tweets when I have something a little more to say, but that doesn’t happen often. Since I am usually helplessly long-winded, it’s a real surprise.

    As to commenting, I tend to be online mostly from my phone, so it’s not quite so easy to do as from my computer. Particularly since I remain long-winded in my comments, as you see here.

    At least you have the type of comment box that allows us to go back and forth to edit our text before submitting. I *hate* the ones that make you exit the comment box and return tithe exact spot you want to fix before letting you type again.

    Anyway, I certainly understand missing the interaction in the comments, that used to be great fun for us, as well. However, I really do love the immediacy of Twitter. Although I am somewhat demoralized that learning to be so succinct in that format has not carried over to any of my other writing. *sigh*

    But, please, do carry on wih your usual posting. We are still here enjoying it all!

  13. misspiggy says:

    I check in every couple of days, and very much enjoy your posts. But often I don’t have much to add! Also, I doo feel that if I’m going to put myself on record in the new era of trackable and email-linked commenting, what I say had better be uncontroversial and worksafe. Kind of puts a damper on things really…

  14. me (testing) says:

    It should be possible to make a comment without providing any trackable details at all

  15. disgruntled says:

    @Rebecca – yes mobiles do make it much easier to stick to twitter …
    @misspiggy – although wordpress does its best to pretend otherwise, you can just leave the email and website field blank if you don’t want to be tracked (last comment was me just testing that this was true)

  16. magnatom says:

    Hello…ah….is this a train timetable website…..?

  17. commuterjohn says:

    So there you are, we are still out there listening to you, whatever your name is!

  18. John Gibson says:

    The only time I don’t check your blog is on my days off, or when I’m on holiday. You are at number nine on my bookmarks list. If that seems a bit low, its not, I have sixty bookmarks in the list.
    Keep up the good work.
    John

  19. misspiggy says:

    Ah, I see you have different settings to some other WordPress blogs – thanks!

  20. viviane says:

    I am here too, just a little shy… And I stopped blogging because of lack of comments and feedback. I will try and comment more often. But please update us about the ford !

  21. Charles says:

    Good lord woman, just because you live in Scotland, in a rural idyl, with fishing, streams, gardens, buzzards and fresh air, you also have have acquired a certain scottish neediness. They really do not want independance you know, but they really want to be noticed!

    I read your blog religiously every day. It keeps me sane. Keep going, I need to know what length my hair should be when I eventually escape from London….

  22. disgruntled says:

    yes, it was a bit needy wasn’t it. Still it’s worked 🙂 thanks for all the nice feedback

  23. WOL says:

    I have your blog in my feed reader and never miss a one. My commenting, alas, has been curtailed by problems with my right hand which makes typing somewhat problematic.

  24. Anonymous says:

    Another very shy lurker here 🙂

  25. Lolablogger says:

    I read and rarely comment. Nobody even reads my blog any more, let alone comments, and at one point I had about 100 regular readers. Now it’s all my family!

  26. disgruntled says:

    @Wol – sorry to hear that – didn’t mean to force you to type with your dodgy hand
    @anonymous – hello! Glad to bring the lurkers out of the woodwork, however briefly
    @lola – which is a shame having just read this http://dietitianlola.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/the-frankfurter-octopus.html … disturbing yet intriguing all at the same time

  27. Bill Gibbon says:

    I pop in most days. I love reading about what you’ve been up to. I rarely feel qualified to comment, and it’s a pain having to reset my login password every time cos I always forget it …..

  28. spikeabell says:

    I read via a feeder too. Generally only comment if a question is asked. Enjoy your posts always. Have a very hectic life at the moment… paper and artwork due in soon

  29. Ross W says:

    Hello. The Wintles still read and enjoy your blog but, like others, I mostly read on a mobile device now, so commenting does become harder to do. WordPress happens to make it especially difficult. Plus, what with the arrival of now-10-month-old Isaac we’ve done less gardening and cycling this year, so I guess we just have less to offer the world. If you’d care to post about poo, nappies, sleep deprivation, Breastfeeding or sleep deprivation. Or nappies. Or sleep deprivation…did I say that already? Gosh I’m tired and barely comprehensible. Well, we’re experts at those things and would post comments galore! 🙂

  30. Dunno about everyone else, but I was in Disneyland Paris. I even took a photo of a crap cycle lane near Tour Eiffel to prove we are not the only ones that can produce rubbish.

    We had a most excellent time, but are completely knackered

  31. disgruntled says:

    It’s a shame wordpress seems to have broken commenting for some people…

    Paul – I know I’d be terrified to cycle in Paris, unless it’s changed a lot in the past few years.

  32. Hello, Mouse! Been away from it all for AGES. Just starting to catch up. Part of being away was in Menorca where I was delighted to see miles upon miles of cycleways, properly lit for night time, and a whole new Cami de Cavalls, an island-wide network of bridle paths which are also advertised to cyclists and hikers. So I thought of you lots, all the same! x

  33. PS I am particularly attached to your ford and its ongoing state of health. And now to catch up on all the posts I’ve missed….. .

  34. disgruntled says:

    Excellent – but did you cycle?

  35. Am afraid I did not, but (as usual) drove by fully appreciative of efforts made for those who do! Noted how many cyclists (loads of them) were sailing around country roads and carefully passed by drivers. Very polite. I did swim though – warm even in late September & October. Re the Cami de Cavalls – maps show coastal routes but I think there are interconnecting trails too cos saw a map of it while I was there. And Menorca’s just been declared an entire Biosphere in its own right, never mind the nature reservation in the northwest of the island. x

  36. Bollocks. I meant northeast. For a navigator, this is a serious error …..

  37. […] October I won at weeding  but was reduced to begging for comments (keep them coming, incidentally) – while Asbo Buzzard recruited reinforcements. In November I […]

Leave a Reply

