That was the Year that Was

brompton_2 brompton_3 brompton_4

It’s odd, really. It’s the time of year when people ask you what you’ve been up to, especially if they haven’t seen you for a while. And, after casting my mind back for a bit I’ve found myself saying – oh, not much, more of the same really. 2012 seemed to pass in an uneventful succession of papershop runs, gardening mishaps and rain.

cuteness_on_legsAnd yet, when I look back properly I find that in January I learned to eat – if not love – mushrooms, became a proper cyclist, lost my mobile phone (oh, okay, that’s not very surprising) and organised our spice rack (amazingly, it’s still organised too). In Feburary the bike got to go back to its home town  and got properly lit up. In March we got a cute new neighbour not to mention a cute new bike and I took up extreme Bromptoneering.
Setting out
In April I helped organise a wee demo (and did I mention we’re doing it again?). In May we almost took up involuntary bee keeping and in June I first encounted Asbo Buzzard  – and the ford closed to pedestrians sign was finally removed  (although, as it later turned out, by the postman rather than the roads people) – oh and I wrote what has turned out to be one of my more popular posts, for those visiting via Google, anyway. In July I survived my first serious assassination attempt since leaving London  (unless you count aerial bombardments).

view from the train

bike to school 2

In August, I began to wonder if I might actually be getting the hang of this whole living in the country thing  – and got more value out of a Highland Rover ticket than anyone may ever have done before – as well as introducing my Mum to the delights of N+1. In September I nearly broke another mobile phone  (it’s still hanging in there though) and did my first, and possibly last ever school run – oh, and became a community councillor (with special responsibilities for delinquent wildlife, apparently).

dandelion rootIn October I won at weeding  but was reduced to begging for comments (keep them coming, incidentally) – while Asbo Buzzard recruited reinforcements. In November I finally gave up on my attempt to singlehandedly keep all of the local livestock where it belongs – and actually managed to write something for publication. And this month – I’ve been dabbling in the law and train driving while thankfully leaving the weather at home

winter sunshine

So the next time someone asks me what I’ve been up to I can either back them into a corner and tell them all about it AT GREAT LENGTH … or I can just give them the URL of the blog and let them experience that pleasure in the comfort of their own home.

So how was your 2012?

5 Responses to That was the Year that Was

  1. Lolablogger says:

    It’s been great to share the year with you. Keep it coming! and all the best for 2013.

  2. 2whls3spds says:

    Sun came up this morning… Check
    Still breathing… Check

    Yup 2012 (at least the part that is past) was a successful year! And I have such high aspirations 😛

    Aaron

  3. Bob says:

    I’ve enjoyed you in 2012* and shall try and keep up in 2013.

    *the way one might enjoy Hemingway. Of course.

  4. emma c says:

    I am impressed … All that on a bike and in the rain. You are an inspiration. keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

