I know it’s only evolution…

snowdrops

But it still feels like a tiny annual miracle every time it happens.

Only slightly tempered by the fact that the ground elder is also beginning to poke its head above the soil as well. Time to get going in the garden again

6 Responses to I know it’s only evolution…

  1. Flighty says:

    That’s always a good sight. I wish that I could get going on the plot again but it’s way too soggy. xx

  2. Rachel says:

    I haven’t got snowdrops yet (mine are a later variety, disappointingly) but I was delighted to see the first ground elder leaves last week, as they’re the first wild food of the year. If you can’t beat it, eat it!

  3. disgruntled says:

    Flighty – managed a bit of weeding and clearing this afternoon but it’s muddy going
    Rachel – I’ve tried it, I have to say it tastes of leaves to me…

  4. Why is it that your snowdrops have come out and mine haven’t. despite being a couple of thousand kilometres further south? But yet my grape hyacinths have been flowering since before Christmas? Eh?

  5. disgruntled says:

    The boring answer is probably something to do with soil temperature

Leave a Reply

