Muddy Hell…

snow covered gardenWe had another ‘snow event’ yesterday – there was snow on the ground when we woke up and it then proceeded to snow all day until about mid afternoon when it switched seamlessly into rain. This seems to be the pattern for this winter – we’ve never seen so much snow, but it’s mostly been pretty fleeting. I didn’t get the chance to get out in it yesterday because I was insanely busy but today things eased off a bit and when the sun came out I couldn’t resist the temptation to sneak out for a walk in a rapidly thawing world…

road running with water

The road outside our house is now basically a stream bed.

cow in mud

It drains into the field opposite which is currently home to some rather depressed looking cattle. I don’t think they’ve had dry feet since they’ve been turned out there – and some of the calves probably don’t know what ‘dry’ means, poor things.

sheep on higher ground

The sheep, meanwhile, were sticking to the higher ground

hens on higher ground

As were the hens (and one duck. Go figure)

ford without depth gauge

I stopped to take the traditional but now pointless record of the ford. Presumably if I had the photoshop skills and could be bothered, I could photoshop back in the depth gauge, but I can’t. The other half did spot the torn off depth gauge lurking in the undergrowth on the other side of the river so I might have to go on a rescue mission and ‘photoshop’ it back in real life.

And then, because it was Valentine’s day and I hadn’t remembered to buy a card, I made my beloved some coconut macaroons instead.

coconut macaroons

They did get semi-dipped in chocolate but didn’t survive long enough to be photographed…

4 Responses to Muddy Hell…

  1. Jo says:

    Lovely and sunny here. In fact, when the bike and I venture out later, I think I’ll be sapping the winter jacket for the windproof one, if yesterday’s sweatfest is anything to go by. And definitely only one pair of socks.

    Sorry. Smugness is not becoming, I know. But sometimes, well, it’s bit like cakey treats dipped in chocolate … you know you shouldn’t but you just can’t help yourself. 😀

  2. disgruntled says:

    heh. Sunny here too, what am I doing indoors???

  3. Flighty says:

    Yuck, and yum for the last picture! xx

Leave a Reply

