Spring Surprise

One of the nice things about bulbs – if you’re me, anyway – is that every year I forget I have planted them and every year – assuming they have survived being weeded, which, frankly, isn’t even that much of a risk for the weeds – they pop up to surprise and delight me (except, presumably, for the ones I planted and forgot about and which don’t pop up because the weeds choked them).

crocus emerging

I was out clearing the bit of the garden that I semi gave up on after a tree fell on it, when I noticed a delicate hint of purple among the dead stuff and remembered that I’d planted some crocuses many moons ago, back when I thought I might do something with that patch other than try and ignore it .

A little clearing revealed that there were quite a few and they’d been quietly multiplying while I wasn’t looking. Enough to get me thinking about grassy mossy banks and spring gardens and other ambitious plans …

crocuses

All though zooming back out a little reveals that I’ve a ways to go…

crocuses in cleared patch
Meanwhile, top tip for all gardeners at this time of year – weeding goes so much better if the ground has thawed out first. I spent far too long wondering what the rock-hard chunks of earth-coloured stuff were before I realised that they were in fact the earth, still frozen solid. That would explain why the buttercups were even more of a pain than usual to get out.

3 Responses to Spring Surprise

  1. Flighty says:

    I dug up a lot of mine and replanted them but inevitably missed a few.
    Thanks for that top tip! xx

  2. disgruntled says:

    heh – is the ground frozen down south too?

  3. WOL says:

    The type of grass (Bermuda) that we use for lawns in my part of TX dies back down to the roots in wintertime, and the lawn is full of dead grass until it sprouts back out in the spring. There’s a particularly beautiful Georgian style house near the University. When the lady of the house had a circular driveway put in, she discovered that the big pile of dirt they’d heaped up in the front yard in the process deadened the traffic noise from the very busy street out front. She had it piled up into a crescent shaped berm and had it sodded. Then she had snowdrop, narcissus, jonquil, daffodil and tulip bulbs planted throughout the grass. The bulbs have bloomed and done their thing by the time the grass comes out and starts needing to be mowed, and its like having pleasant little surprises popping up everywhere out of the dead grass when the bulbs sprout in spring.

Leave a Reply

