Flower Gardening

wild flower verges

At this time of year, the hedgerows and verges are a mass of flowers as the cow parsley, hawthorn and, er, pink flowers run riot along the side of the road.

flower beds
And so too are my own borders – about three weeks later than normal – as the columbines, snow-in-summer, poppies, solomon’s seal and mystery purple things also get into their stride.

The difference is that in a couple of weeks, most of the flowers in my beds will be more or less over – everything pretty much peaks in June and then spends the rest of the summer sitting around looking green and lumpy – whereas the verges just go on and on and on, with the cow parsley giving way to meadowsweet and then to foxgloves and willowherb (and a few outbreaks of Himalayan Balsam, but let’s draw a veil over that one). It makes me wonder why I bother – my beds involve much weeding, mulching and trips to village plant sales, while Mother Nature somehow manages to arrange a whole succession of flowers right through until September aided by nothing but rain and a going over with what looks like a lawnmower on a stick courtesy of a man from the council on a tractor once or twice a year.

It’s enough to make you take up growing carrots

7 Responses to Flower Gardening

  1. Jane says:

    pink things=old fashioned hardy cranes bill geraniums?

  2. disgruntled says:

    I don’t think so – I have those in my garden too and the leaves are different. I did use to know what they were but I have forgottenn

  3. Flighty says:

    I like growing flowers but annuals especially are rather time consuming and labour intensive.
    I wish that I could grow carrots successfully as I try every year without much luck. xx

  4. Sweetpeas says:

    It’s campion by the side of the road 🙂

  5. disgruntled says:

    @Flighty – I’ve never really got the hang of herbaceous borders.
    @Sweetpeas – cheers.

  6. Sarah says:

    Red/pink campion does well from cuttings. I did that on purpose. Foxgloves, ox-eye daisies, and crocosmia wander in and out as the mood takes them. I have no idea where the campanula came from, but now it’s taking on the spanish bluebells in a bid for supremacy. It’s even out self seeded the aquilegias.

    With the amount of cow parsley everywhere, is it not a bad year for carrots?

  7. disgruntled says:

    I realise now that the thing I’ve been calling Campion is something else…

Leave a Reply

