Knit Wit

There is ford-and-tadpole news but it needs me to have a decent camera so it will have to wait so I shall bore you instead with a knitting post, as it’s my blog and I can if I want to.

Some while back I discovered that some of my knitwear had fallen prey to clothes moths – I’ve already had to recycle one into socks – including two nice merino numbers, one navy cardigan and one sort of fawn-coloured jumper. Having tasted the delights of a snug merino base layer during the winter* I thought I’d better not let those go to waste so I unravelled what was left and have been looking for a project to make use of the wool ever since. I came across this pattern which seemed just the ticket although even with three strands of it held together (which makes for an interesting colour – something like plasticine after all the different colours have been munged together) my wool is much finer than the gauge for the pattern so in order to make it fit I’m having to knit it for basically a 42-inch chest, which I can assure you I’m not. Ahem. Anyway, that meant casting on approximately a million stitches so it’s slow going…

base layer knitting project

I’m hoping it will be finished for winter, although which winter is anyone’s guess.

The pattern starts off nice and simple (once you’ve figured out circular knitting) and then gets oh-help-that’s-quite-complicated around the sleeves and things but I am sure I will manage to work it out. They used to select women who could knit to operate computers during the war because if you could read a knitting pattern you could work out a computer, so I’m hoping that – as a former computer programmer – this also applies the other way around. Surely after mastering C++ instructions like “Next Row [WS]: Work all sts in patt, picking up wraps and working them together with wrapped sts. Join to held sts of back left shoulder using Three-Needle Bind Off” should be child’s play… And once finished, how environmentally sound will it be? Not only is it entirely recycled and hand made, it should keep me nice and warm rather than cranking up the heating. Although, on the debit side, I suppose it did entail the destruction of an important invertebrate habitat…

And when I’ve finished that, look what my cousin found me in the car boot sale, for 50p.

knitting wool

It’s shetland wool, two-ply. Any suggestions or requests? Because otherwise that’s an awful lot of socks…

*that’s August to June, in case you’re wondering

7 Responses to Knit Wit

  1. Jenny Mayhew says:

    Oh my word, that is going to take a lifetime. Can you knit three strands together? My suggestion for the car boot find is…a knitting machine!

  2. disgruntled says:

    that is three strands together … But to be honest, 90% of knitting is about having something to knit so taking forever isn’t that much of a problem…

  3. John Gibson says:

    I’m not too bad around computers, but knitting, I would not have the first clue. I’m sure whatever you knit with the shetland will be nice.
    John

  4. Bill G says:

    “munged” has just entered my vocabulary…. I promise to use it at least once a day to bed it in….

  5. disgruntled says:

    John – thanks for the vote of confidence!
    Bill – make sure you pronounce it with a soft ‘g’ … Back when I did work with computers, I spent a lot of time ‘data munging’.

  6. Babymother says:

    Knit me a nice cosy cable knit cover for my iPad please (it’s not growing – you can take your time).

  7. […] untangling and rewinding some wool to restart a long-suspended but not entirely forgotten knitting project seems just useful enough to keep me from attempting anything that’s going to bust my […]

Leave a Reply

