Just when you Thought it was Safe to Get Back on the Bike…

Guess who is back

I have been rashly cycling bareheaded in this warm weather, hoping to sneak past ASBO buzzard, and up till recently I’ve got away with it. I had hoped that it had either mellowed in its attitude to cyclists, or gone off to harass cyclists somewhere else. Earlier this week I did notice a buzzard glaring at me from its favourite telegraph pole – and nothing really glares quite like an angry buzzard – but it didn’t move as I went past so I thought I’d got away with it, dead-rabbit hairstyle and all. On Wednesday it was there again but it took off as I approached and flew off into the woods without so much as a glance in my direction. So I wasn’t all that worried today when it was calling from its perch, fixing me with its beady eye like a Daily Mail reader spotting a single mother riding two abreast with an asylum seeker on the pavement. But then it took off and cunningly took a short cut through a stand of trees as I headed round the corner and up the hill before swooping down – not quite as close as its first ever attack, but certainly enough to put the fear of bird into me.

On the way back, fortunately, it was too busy seeing off another buzzard to go for me, but I think it’s time to put the hat back on, heat wave or no heat wave. There are some risks I’m not willing to take…

2 Responses to Just when you Thought it was Safe to Get Back on the Bike…

  1. John says:

    Its that time of the year isnt it, I had to laugh the other day at a seagull who was attacking a young man outside the main entrance of the Crown court, his friends were laughing after taking cover in the doorway whilst he was trying to look smart and dignified for his appearance in court that morning.
    He would not have stood a chance if that seagull was on the jury for his case, he was guilty!

  2. disgruntled says:

    Seagulls are supposedly a menace here too, although so far I’ve been okay. I imagine the young man was lucky to get away with an unmarked suit…

Leave a Reply

